Multitasking is kind of a pain in the ***!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Cod3rror, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. Cod3rror macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #1
    There is no "Exit" button on applications so basically whatever you open, stays opened, and you have to double tap, press and hold, and then close the apps.

    In theory multitasking sounded nice, but in practice it's quite annoying.

    Nokia's and Android's multitasking implementations are MUCH better.

    It's quite obvious that multitasking is a bolt on rather than a fundamental implementation.
     
  2. Petey-ed macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #2
    Its not really "running" in the background. Majority of those apps are in a freeze state and don't take up ANY memory. The only things that can be "running" are apps that utilize those 7 API's that Apple announced earlier this year. The multitasking bar is just a quick way to switch apps if you are in the middle of something like a phone call or receive an SMS.

    It's funny how naive people are about this whole concept.
     
  3. jman240 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #3
    You don't understand it.

    You don't have to "close" apps like that. Just use the phone as you did before.

    The double tap bar is more like a history the same way the history in a web browser works. None of the apps are "running"
     
  4. JudasBlitzkrieg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    #4
    seeing as it doesn't really affect your battery when the apps are sitting in the multitasking system, why is it so much of an issue?
     
  5. Steviejobz macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    wow, after all the bitching and moaning for 3 years. Now complaints!

    Maybe Apple should have had an extra button on the side to switch between apps?

    They are not running in the background, but I guess the very OCD people dont like apps left open - kind of like a door left ajar
     
  6. diabolic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #6
    And that's one reason it's a much better implementation than allowing every app to keep running in the background.
     
  7. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #7
    The exit button is still there. It's called the Home button under the screen. The task switcher does not distinguish between what's actively running and what was recently closed.
     
  8. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #8
    It can't get much simpler than that, really!
     
  9. RichL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    They definitely do use memory when in their frozen state.

    You = wrong.
     
  10. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #10
    that sounds pretty good actually.

    So it takes a 'snapshot' of the state, and organizes them for quick access?
     
  11. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #11
    Yes, but when you hit the home button, the app remains in the multitasking tray. Some people still want an option to completely close an app, so it does not appear there anymore.
     
  12. Eso macrumors 68000

    Eso

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #12
    Ironic you should say that considering it's impossible for an app to be in a "freeze" state without taking up any memory.

    But, you do have a point, the home button still closes apps. Even when an app continues to run using one of the multi-tasking API's, it's still not the app that is running, but a process of the OS.
     
  13. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #13
    It is completely closed. Just because it appears there doesn't mean it's open. Exception goes to one of the 7 key APIs.
     
  14. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #14
    If you're not running something in the background then it is completely closed. Being in the tray has nothing to do with whether it's running or not.
     
  15. jman240 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #15
    Yes and no. They use the Flash memory to save state, not the active RAM unless they are using one of the 7 background API's.

    They are hibernating essentially, ready to resume from where you left off when you need to. Hence the "saving state" information.
     
  16. amps macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #16
    Like most things Apple, they tried to make it dummy proof. I think it works pretty well.
     
  17. ilp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #17
    Beauty of the iPhone and Apple's design. I no longer have to think about closing apps! It's liberating.
     
  18. kryten3000 macrumors regular

    kryten3000

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    Mohawk Valley
    #18
    And notice how the OP has yet to comment again. Very creepy. :rolleyes:
     
  19. Petey-ed macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #19
    No, it takes flash memory, not active memory refer to:

    YOU = Noob
     
  20. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #20
    You don't have to close apps. When you exit from an app via the home button if the app has been compiled for iOS 4, it'll freeze the state of the application, using up memory. When the app isn't used for a while and you've been using other apps, it'll kill that app to get the memory back.
     
  21. LoganT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #21
    Well then to close the application you press and hold and remove it. Or you go into Pandora again and pause the music.
     
  22. xtend macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #22
    This thread makes my blood boiling :D

    at leas good entertainment while waiting for iP4 :)

    Spoiler: background apps are not really "running" and don't need to be "closed" sice they are not really "open". :apple:
     
  23. BrownManUPS macrumors 6502a

    BrownManUPS

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #23
    You can close applications:

    "All you do is hold down an icon (from the multitasking pane)—just as if you're trying to delete it—and wait for the minus sign to pop up." -- Via Gizmodo
     
  24. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #24
    The confusion between how the multitasking works is only confusing for people that are semi-tech savvy. If you know nothing about technology then it works fine just being oblivious. If you know a lot about how multitasking works and the API's they use then you also understand that there's nothing to worry about by closing apps. The problem occurs when people understand the theory of multitasking but don't understand the difference in the way Apple implemented it and other OS implement it. Right now the only app (that I know of) that will actually do anything in the background until you tell it to stop is Pandora. All the rest will not do anything. Yes, they may use more memory now then before, but that does not affect your battery life.
     
  25. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #25
    It's closed even before you get to that step. (Unless it's playing music or something.) But if it's not currently doing something then there's no reason to do that.
     

Share This Page