iPad Multitasking & multiple instances of the same app

Discussion in 'iOS 13' started by bmac89, Jun 6, 2019.

  1. bmac89 macrumors 65816

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #1
    Hello,

    I’m looking forward to the new multitasking features and ability to have the same app open in multiple spaces.

    However I have a couple of questions about multiple instances of Safari. Does split screen Safari work in the same way as other split screen apps (I.e. independently resize & dismiss etc) or does it still work the same way as before?

    Also can you open a brand new Safari space (like a new window on Mac) or atleast manage different tabs across different spaces?
    For example, have one Safari space dedicated to work tabs and another to news etc. Currently I use private browsing like a second space or if I get too many tabs and won’t be using some for a while I share them to Firefox browser instead.

    Thanks
     
  2. stocklen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    #2
    Good question... with 75 views I'm surprised that none of the Beta testers have answered.

    Come on Beta testers...!!! whats the answer to this?
     
  3. anthdci macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #3
    So i have my ipad pro here with 13.0b1, i have two instances of safari side by side, each with their own set of tabs open, one in private mode and one not. You can open a third and have it as a small windows to the side, but that looks the same as an iphone GUI. Does that answer all your questions? is there anything else you'd like me to test?
     
  4. bmac89 thread starter macrumors 65816

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #4
    Thanks for the reply.

    * Firstly are you able to resize the Safari split view or is it still forced 50/50 in landscape?

    * Secondly when you have a 3rd instance of Safari open as slide over does it contain the same tabs or is it a completely fresh slate?

    * Thirdly can you have a multiple spaces with Safari open and each containing different tabs?
    For example fullscreen Safari with general browsing tabs and then a second fullscreen Safari space with work tabs. Taking this a step further, does this work with any combination of multiple Safari spaces - I.e. 1 fullscreen Safari + 1 split screen Safari 50/50 + split screen Safari/Another app... but all containing different tabs.

    * Finally if you can have multiple (unique) Safari spaces open and you press on the Safari icon on homescreen how does it handle this? How does it know which space to open? Perhaps it opens the last used space?

    Many thanks for your time.
     
  5. profets macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #5
    Yup - able to resize the split, no longer forced to that fixed 50/50.

    Whenever you open additional safari instances (whether in slide over, or a new full screen window), it starts fresh. I just played with it a bit and had 2 full screen instances of safari and 2 full screens in split mode. Multitasking view & command-tab to switch actually switches between each safari space.
     
  6. bmac89 thread starter macrumors 65816

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #6
    Thanks. That is great news to hear!

    So if I press on the Safari icon on the homescreen presumably it opens the last used Safari space or...?
     
  7. profets macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #7
    That’s right - if you’re at the home screen, and tap safari from the dock or spring board, it’ll open the most recently used safari window.

    If you’re currently in Safari, bring up the dock and tap Safari, then it’ll jump right to Safari Expose (see screenshot for example). I didn’t appreciate it at first, but this is nice how many separate instances you can have.

    Also - that + symbol in the top right, tapping that is a quick way to add another instance of Safari.

    6B877D0A-342F-47DF-B671-0424E5FC0FC3.jpg

    And if you’re at the home screen, and want to see Safari Expose instead of jumping to the most recently used instance, a long press (or whatever its called) will bring up show all windows:

    E2F63BF1-3CB5-4F27-AA9D-E3B1610AE319.jpeg
     
  8. bmac89 thread starter macrumors 65816

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #8
    Awesome! Thanks!
    Nice touch that they add the website/tab name below the Safari icon in Safari expose.
     
  9. profets macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #9
    Agreed, playing with it a bunch now, really nice how its all done.
     
  10. jawa12083 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #10
    Has anyone figured out if there is a way to do something similar to "Reopen All Windows from Last Session" similar to Safari on macOS? In Slide Over view, I swiped one of the Safari windows up and can't seem to re-access it. CMD + Shift + T lets me re-open tabs individually (and holding that down on the keyboard works to do it quickly), but it's a bit counter-intuitive to have multiple-window management but not this feature!
     
  11. Slevin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    I have 4-5 instances of safari open currently, how do you close individual safari workspaces. I have closed out all the tabs but can’t close the workspace
     
  12. onepoint macrumors 6502a

    onepoint

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Flying blind (no beta) but can't you just flick it off the top of the screen from the multitasking view?
     
  13. Slevin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    Thanks. I didn’t think of that
     
  14. Penooker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #14
    The usability of this new multi tasking is surprisingly confusing and hard. It took me watching videos to figure out the things described in this thread. On top of that,I’ve also run into the problem of trying to reopen an instance that I closed. It doesn’t mesh well with the old idea that killing an app doesn’t mean you loose your tabs. Now, if it’s not the last instance, it just kills that set of tabs, and safari still hasn’t been killed. I think they need another iteration on the interaction model.
     
  15. ZEEN0j macrumors 65816

    ZEEN0j

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #15
    Sounds to me it works more like a Mac. What it lacks though is a kill all button. You accomplish that though by opening an app in expose and swiping all of them up.
     
  16. theodorr macrumors newbie

    theodorr

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    #16
    Does anyone have any idea if you can open an app in split view with another app which is NOT in the Dock - in iOS 12 you could go to the home screen, drag an app, keep it dragged with your finger, open another app, and “paste” it on top of it either in Split screen or Slideover. Now, I can’t do that bc the apps go automatically in wiggle mode...
     
  17. Feenician macrumors 601

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #17
    It's broken. As you say it goes straight to wiggle mode. I logged feedback and it was marked as no other reports. Please log feedback so it can get fixed.
     
  18. iphnhelp, Jun 17, 2019 at 6:29 PM
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2019 at 11:41 AM

    iphnhelp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #18
    I hope it’s broken, and not just new behavior. Still broken in beta 2.

    EDIT: I filed a bug report about this
     

Share This Page

17 June 6, 2019