Multitasking on iPod 3g 8GB?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Boots-, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. Boots- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Will there be multitasking for the iPod gen3 (8GB model)? I mean it is a third generation, but it is similar to the 2nd generation is it not? So will this one support multitasking?
     
  2. Nobylspoon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #2
    Yes, the 3rd Gen will allow multitasking with OS4 but not the 2nd Gen.
     
  3. tadad1 macrumors 6502a

    tadad1

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #3
    Not on the 8GB model as it is basically the 2nd gen touch and does not have the necessary hardware.
     
  4. Boots- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Is it just the 32/64 GB models, or is the 3rd Gen 8GB included also?
     
  5. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #5
    No. The 8GB is still a 2G in terms of hardware. Only the 32/64GB models got upgraded processors and graphics chipsets.
     
  6. Boots- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    DAMN! Just bought the thing too. But I guess I can wait until the contract on my phone is up, and then i'll just get an iPhone. Oh well. Thanks for helping me out!
     
  7. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I think the hardware in question is more memory than anything else. The 3G touch and 3GS have 256MB of memory as opposed to the 128MB of the 2G touch and other previous models.
     
  8. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #8
    But more importantly, the processor driving the 3rd gen is much more powerful than the one driving the 2nd gen.
     
  9. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #9
    I really wish Apple had included the updated hardware in the 3G 8GB model. Mostly because it would eliminate so much confusion. There's really no such thing as a 3rd Gen 8 GB Touch, and yet there is...
     
  10. flight macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    #10
    I have the 32GB 3rd-gen touch and while I'm happy to have the ability to purchase the upgrade to iPhone OS 4, I still think the 8GB would have been good enough since I'm only using about 3.5GB. I really was just wanting a mobile browser, calendar, email, Instapaper, and Kindle device.

    Don't feel bad, 8GB "3rd-gen" owners. You still have a great mini computer.
     

Share This Page