Multitouch trackpad

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Rob4iX666, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. Rob4iX666 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #1
    Hey,
    I have a bit of a problem. I have an older MacBook Pro from late 2007 (MacBook Pro 3,1) when they didn't have the multitouch trackpads yet, so I'm stuck without one.
    I was wondering if I could use my iPod touch as a trackpad via one of those remote apps and they work fine with the exception that my system preferences don't offer the multitouch options. So I started to look around google for some way to add the multitouch preference pane. Turns out that there was a hack a while back that did that. It envolves changing the info.plist of AppleUSBMultitouch.kext file in extension folder in library and repairing permissions. Trouble is, it doesn't work for lion ( or at least I couldn't get it to work).
    Any ideas anyone? How can you fool your system into thinking that you have a multitouch trackpad, or how to make it work with an ipod touch?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    It cannot be done. The trackpad hardware cannot read more than two touch points. Nor is there any way to use an iPod Touch as a trackpad in that manner.
     
  3. Rob4iX666 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #3
    I'm sorry, but I'm using my iPod touch as a trackpad right now (could even use the keyboard from it to post this if i wasn't so lazy lol). there are apps on app store for that.
    The trouble is i want to use it as a multitouch trackpad, which in my opinion could very well be done.
     
  4. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #4
    So it's still a trackpad just like the one on your macbook since it's not multitouch? What's the point?

    Why don't you just get a magic trackpad?
     
  5. Rob4iX666 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #5
    yes, its pointless for now, but it could be a moultitouch trackpad if someone could help me figure out how to make the hack work.
    i like playing around with it and maybe save some money, that's why i don't get the magic trackpad... if this fails I'll just get a new macbook pro, its time to upgrade anyway.
     
  6. AnthonyHarris macrumors regular

    AnthonyHarris

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    Cambridge, England
    #6

    Its great fun to 'hack' and make things work as you would like them too, but unfortunately it just isn't going to work. If you really want to 'save' some money then buying a Magic Trackpad would save you well over 1000 $/£ if you did that rather than upgrade.
     
  7. MasterHowl macrumors 65816

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #7
    I bought a Magic Trackpad two days ago and it's brilliant. I've used those Apps for iPod Touch that "turn it into a trackpad"... but it's just no where near as good as the real thing.

    Well worth the £59 for the real deal!
     
  8. erangaj macrumors member

    erangaj

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    I bought a trackpad on Monday for AUD75. But today, few retailers have suddenly dropped the price of a trackpad to AUD50!!!
     
  9. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #9
    I have the same Late 2007 MBP at home. I picked up the Magic Trackpad yesterday and it works perfectly. A whole lot cheaper then upgrading the machine. I'd like an upgrade, just can't justify it, the old machine works perfectly and I have a 2010 model from work.
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    Yes, but you wanted to use it as a multitouch trackpad. And I said, no you can't use it like that.
     
  11. Rob4iX666 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #11
    but what determines if you get the multitouch preferences or not? wouldn't the multitouch through my ipod start working if i manually changed some system files to enable the preferences?
    just throwing it out there....
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    Nope, the iPod cannot show up as a trackpad to Mac OS X. The App Store apps just tell the mouse where to go and what to click. They cannot emulate a multitouch trackpad.
     
  13. Rob4iX666 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #13
    alright, so my dreams are crushed hahaha I'll just have to buy that magic trackpad then... does anyone know by any chance where u can get them cheap online?
     

Share This Page