Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sebjenner

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 8, 2006
what would you recommend i do? im new to all this.

i have a 12 track digitl recorder which works very nicely (though i need to spend more time on it) the product can be heard at http://www.myspace.com/collidesinarc ... however im buying an ibook with 1gb ram and 80gb harddrive soon. I justw anted to know if i could go without my 12track, and thus sell it.

I usually jut record on einstrument at a time as im a solo artist, so i would only need to put 2 tracks into the ibook. do i need to purchase anything to do this?

also whats the line in like? is there one? do i need to go through firewire etc.

i really need help with anything, so if anyone has some experince that would be great.

id liek to spend under £300 to be honest as well...

Mitthrawnuruodo

Moderator emeritus
Mar 10, 2004
Bergen, Norway
The iBooks have no Line in, you need something like the iMic. If you want to record from more than once source at the time you need some sort of mixer to join the two (or more) sources before feeding the iMic, if you only want to record one track at the time the iBook (which comes with iLife and thus GarageBand) and the iMic is all you need. You can get it for £29.95 at Apple Store UK, and maybe even cheaper if you browse around. :)

calebjohnston

macrumors 68000
Jan 24, 2006
Yep. You also might want to invest in some sm57's. They're good microphones for the price. Garageband will take care of you on the software end - it's a great program.

Eniregnat

macrumors 68000
Jan 22, 2003
In your head.
You get what you pay for when it comes to audio input.