Must Recover Files in external Hard drive

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Pipino Kalabasa, Apr 3, 2011.

1. Pipino Kalabasa macrumors newbie

Hi guys. Sorry if I posted this question in the wrong place. I tried looking but I couldn't find a solved question like mine. or maybe I just couldn't understand the techy stuff.:(

I bought an external terabyte hard drive four years ago. I got to use it a lot for two years and then one day I plugged it in and I couldn't see the image. when I unplug the USB, or turn it off the image appears for like a second and a warning comes out that I didn't eject properly. Now, I tried to use a different firewire and a different power cord, and the image appears on my finder but I can't see any of my files inside. I know it's there cause it says that it has 129.5Gb of space left. It's imperative that I get to my files. I'm a filmmaking student living in the Philippines, so I really need to get to my files for school.:eek:

Our apple store doesn't have any of the Data Rescue software stuff that I would've bought. And I don't have that much money anyway. So I was hoping if you guys know of any other way?:confused:

My Stuff:
    MacBook Pro (bought 2007) 10.6.7
    Ovation (WD terabyte) external Hard drive

Please bear with me, I'm not a techy. so I may not understand everything easily. Thanks tons!:eek:

Pipino:D

2. 8CoreWhore macrumors 68020

8CoreWhore

It's possible the problem does not lie with the actual HDD inside, but with the USB port and/or controller for it. If that's the situation, you can remove the drive and install it inside a different external enclosure or install it inside a computer tower.

When you hooked up the FW, you also switched power cables. Use FW with the original cable.

If You can finally mount it in a PC, and it still has problems, I'd run SpinRite on it. Can you install it inside a friends PC?