OS X MW3 on OS X Performance

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by monokitty, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. monokitty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #1
    Is anyone else finding MW3 crippled performance-wise on the Mac side? Perhaps not on high-end GPU's, but more on mid-range ones like the 650M? I can play it at 1080p, Ultra settings on Windows via Bootcamp and achieve 40 fps consistently, minimum. On the Mac side, pretty much everything needs to be set to low and it still isn't smooth, at 720p resolution.

    I'm aware that games run better under Windows pretty much no matter what, but the gap performance difference in MW3 is unusually large. Unfortunate, since despite it being available on the Mac side, I still end up rebooting to play.
     
  2. insane79 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #2
    Hi,
    I have been playing MW3 on my late 2012 27" iMac that has gtx660m 512,
    the only thing i have done to this machine is 16gb ram & the game runs on 900p on all setting to high & extra, aa is off & the game runs perfect smooth & looks great, i m sure it might run better on bootcamp with my machine but who will load windoze for that :confused:
     
  3. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
  4. VI™ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Location:
    Shepherdsturd, WV
    #4
    Mech. Warrior. 3.
     
  5. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #5
    And there I was assuming it was Modern Warfare 3 ... ;)
     
  6. VI™ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Location:
    Shepherdsturd, WV
    #6
    Probably, but Mech Warrior 3 is sooooo much better.
     
  7. Aspyr-Blair macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Location:
    Austin Tx
    #7
    Hahaha...yep...got me too. For a second my red flag radar was going off as Modern Warfare 3 plays quite well on the 650M.

    Mech Warrior 3 is awesome tho :D

    Wait...no seriously...did you mean MW3 OP? Or MW3?
     
  8. monokitty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #8
    Haha, I was referring to Modern Warfare 3. Seems to be better now after messing around with options. If I run it full screen, but not at the native resolution of the display, it seems to stutter like mad. Weird.
     
  9. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #9
    I'm experiencing really bad hitching on MW2 and MW3. Mac Pro 3.2 Mid 2010 w/ 5770. Whenever I enter a new area or turn to the left or right really fast (like you do) it's as if it's loading all the graphics right then and there. It's ruining the gameplay for me.

    This doesn't happen in Aspyr's CoD 4 or Black Ops on Mac. This also happens in BL2 and Pre Sequel, however.

    I sent Aspyr an e-mail about this, hopefully something will be done.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     

Share This Page