MX/VX Revolution or G7 good enough for Photoshop/Illustrator?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cleanup, Jul 26, 2008.

1. cleanup macrumors 68030

cleanup

So I'm interested in getting an MX or VX Revolution, or a G7, because I'm getting sick of how laggy and tight my MX610 feels. Although its fine for normal computing I work as a designer for deviantART and use Photoshop and especially Illustrator a lot. For those uses I find the MX610 too "sticky" and clunky for my taste. It's too difficult to move the cursor just a few pixels on the screen, and I notice a bit of lag. It's gotten to the point where when I open up PS or Ill I switch to my trusty old wired MX310.

So I was wondering if any of these three mice would be good for me? I would prefer the MX or the G7 because they are larger and I'm not sure how the VX would fit in my hand, but I was leaning towards the VX because it's inexpensive and the G7 because it has 2200 DPI, while the MX and VX support only 800 DPI fixed.

Any advice? Thanks.

2. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

3. cleanup thread starter macrumors 68030

cleanup

I have one. With vector work I prefer a mouse.

4. BlakTornado Guest

BlakTornado

I use an MX Revolution and use Photoshop a fair amount.

I think it's perfect, really.

People claim it's a gamer's mouse but that's the joy of it; it has enough buttons to do what you want it to do, and you can program each application to respond differently to each button press (which is very useful).

I recommend it, personally. Plus it's rechargeable so you don't need to spend money on batteries.

5. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

Well VX and VX nano are out since they are small. My roommate has one and its crap. I never used the G7 before but the people on amazon like it and I might go pick one up since before this I never heard of it before.

The G7 looks like the mouse for you with its high DPI.

6. cleanup thread starter macrumors 68030

cleanup