MXF and Final Cut Pro, do they like each other?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by sk3pt1c, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. sk3pt1c macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #1
    So, i'm waiting for this dude to send me video from a play so i can make a DVD for them, he said it's MXF (probably from a Sony XDCAM).

    I have FCP and after some Google-ing i found the "Calibrated{Q} MXF Import 1.8"
    which i downloaded and installed(?)...

    anywho, question is, do i just add files to FCP as usual or do they need converting with this thingy?

    i also noticed that video and audio are separate when it comes to MXF, do i just treat them like that and drop them in my timeline one on top of the other or do they need to be mixed first?

    thanks for your time :)
     
  2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #2
    what you need is the complete folder structure from the XDCam/P2 cards... then you can Log and Transfer the footage into FCP.
     
  3. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #3
    I think that's what they're gonna send me...
    So i start Log and Transfer and select the top folder or what?
     
  4. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #4
    yup... although with XDCam, you may have to go File > Import > XDCam and go through their importer... there is bound to be a step by step online once you know the exact format/source camera.
     
  5. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #5
    Sweet, thanks!
    Well, i'll probs have it in a day or two,
    i'll give it a try and let you know :)
     
  6. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #6
    hey there, so i got the video and it works with Log and Transfer,
    dropped it into the file browser after importing and that's it.
    doesn't work with individually adding files though :/
    also, the camera man must've been a real douche, cause i see that it's
    standard def... i mean, it will be outputted to standard def, but it wouldn't hurt to film the performance in HD and then downgrade...
    anywho, thanks for the help! :)
     

Share This Page