My Apple watch series 2 keeps switching off

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by The Game 161, Nov 16, 2016.

  1. The Game 161 macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    All night while at work since 2am it keeps switching off with the apple logo coming up. Can't understand why.

    Best way to sort this out? reset it maybe?
     
  2. BrickbookPro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #2
    Mine does too. Why?
     
  3. ZebraDude macrumors 6502a

    ZebraDude

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    #3
    that's a reboot. Sadly I have a watch that reboots and goes into a boot loop till it cools off. The repair depot has been unable to replicate it my case...annoying...
     
  4. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #4
    Get them back to the store. They should be able to see something in diagnostics.

    My SBSS 42mm has not rebooted to date that I know of.
     
  5. ZebraDude macrumors 6502a

    ZebraDude

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    #5
    I have 4 Apple Watches ( I know I'm nuts ) 3 Series 0's and 1 Series 2.

    Series 0: SSLB 42 picked it up for $350 and it's the guy that has the issue.

    Unless the Watch reboots while in diagnostics or if you are luckier then me they will classify it as defective.

    Mine happens when I use in while I'm on my 3 hour exercise bike ride I sweat a lot and my body heat pushes the Watch to boot loop after about 2 hours into the ride.

    Apple Store is unable to replicate to fault so they just flash it back to WatchOS 3.0 and return it back.

    I'm have sent it in so far twice and they could not replicate it.

    I even requested that they keep it for a couple of weeks to have someone workout with it but no luck.

    If you have any ideas I love to hear them.

    I have gotten tired of sending it in they clear it restore it back a generation and it takes me about 3 hours to rebuild it back. Reload 3.1 and repair and install about 100 apps.
     
  6. Relentless Power macrumors P6

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #6
    You're not crazy. I have four of them too. All stainless. I don't even wear my non-tech watches anymore.

    I wish I had feedback for you on your Watch. If it's under warranty, perhaps seek a warranty replacement? If Apple can offer that you this option.
     
  7. ZebraDude macrumors 6502a

    ZebraDude

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    #7
    I have a 42mm SS link bracelet Series 0 (the factory defect) a 38mm SSSB Series 0 link bracelet a 42mm Sport Space Gray and a Series 2 Gold Alum. On the second return I requested a warranty replacement but since they were unable to replicate the issue no replacement.

    I have been mulling over sending a email to Tim Cook to get executive team involved.

    Ps. The watch is under the regular warranty and Apple Care +.
     
  8. The Game 161 thread starter macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    might need to as it's come to the point where its annoying now.

    I didn't buy from apple store though. Was from PC world.
     
  9. dantracht macrumors regular

    dantracht

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #9
    I got a series 2 on Monday and it did that the first full day I was using it. I reset it as new and it's for the most part been good since. I suggest trying a reset as new.
     
  10. Relentless Power macrumors P6

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #10
    Strange. Wonder what could be causing this issue.
     
  11. dantracht macrumors regular

    dantracht

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #11
    Only thing I could think of, and the Apple tech could think of as well, was I screwed up a vacation reply on my mac mail last week, so everyone in my inbox was sent an auto reply. My watch was flooded with them as well, and the tech thinks it may have sent it into a tizzy.

    Who knows? Reseting it as new did the trick, so give it a shot?
     

Share This Page