My ATV do not appear in Itunes

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Ed4132, Dec 31, 2010.

  1. Ed4132 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Location:
    Honduras
    #1
    Hi

    I have ATV and most of the times do not appear in itunes I try to shut down the computer also I update iTunes with the same result please help

    Thanks
     
  2. ctakim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #2
    More info please. Do you have an original ATV (should show up in iTunes) or an ATV2 (does not show up in iTunes, but you can see it by clicking on the multiple speakers icon on the lower right of iTunes)?:)
     
  3. Ukrainianoiler, Jan 3, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011

    Ukrainianoiler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #3
    same problem


    I have had the same problem for a while. I have 1st gen ATV. I also have atvFlash but even after a factory restore of the atv, with nothing running, itunes won't 'see' my atv. I have tried:

    restarting my pc, router (2wire), and atv. Tried shutting off my router firewall and windows firewall.

    downgrading to itunes 9.1.1.12
    unsyching

    reinstalled atvflash as well after all this

    switched ethernet cables (i have had nothing but trouble with my wireless - it kept resetting or losing it's connection though I have since tried to get things going with that to no avail)

    hooked it directly to my computer via the ethernet

    run atv diagnostics - everything checked out fine

    with atv flash i am still able to stream to nitotv and xbmc

    last night i was able to use itunes (i am able to log in on my atv) to watch a movie, am able to watch trailers

    Probably tried other things but am just at a loss for whats going on. Have seen some issues with 2wire routers but you search for anything and something will come up. My PS3 and Wii both work fine on the network, the wii is on wireless - no issues streaming.

    I can't even get the box to enter in the 5 digit from atv into itunes. I had previously been running things and synching fine, all media types. My itunes until i restored it yesterday, had the music previously synched but would not update running...and now its down to nothing.

    Able to FTP from PC to ATV with no problem as well...

    No multiple speaker icon available (used to be and worked fine)

    Searched at end for suggestions/ideas but am trying all and getting no results.


    Any ideas?:)

    Any suggestions
     
  4. dingbaty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #4
    ATV 2G Not showing in ITunes

    I have the same problem. I have an ATV 2g, i tunes 10 and Mac book pro.

    When I plug in the ATV using a mico usb cable, it dose not appear under devices on Itunes. I made sure the power cable was unplugged as per instructions from mac support forums. Still no go...

    I have tried re installing itunes = no luck

    can any one help please?
     
  5. Ukrainianoiler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #5
    Think I solved ?


    After trying everything but what someone either on here had said (sorry, I can't remember where I saw it) or on atvflash support site I finally uninstalled Mcaffe total security (which in turn, buggered up my ethernet driver and took me another day to figure out on top of trying to figure this issue here out)...i used mcaffe's product uninstaller thing and now that my internet is finally up and running, i have been able to get things going with my atv (1st gen). It finally first showed up in the lower right corner for the remote speaker option (again, this had all been working previously so its not like i just didn't see it there - it was just totally gone until i did this). It still didn't show up in the devices screen - so had to go back to atv - reselect connect to itunes (i think i had to do it a few times?) then came back to pc - and finally finally finally got the option to enter the 5 digit code and get things up and running again. So a huge thanks to whomever I got the uninstalling my antivirus (not sure if it is Mcafee specific but have seen posts on here I think about an update in Oct. or something messing with other issues)...thanks so much to the forum and hope this helps someone else as well.
     

Share This Page