Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Aflatminer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 14, 2010
These are a couple of photos that I took on the 4th of July at a local pond.I'm curious to know what you guys think. Be gentle, it's my first time haha.

These were shot on a Canon T1i with the 50mm f/1.8 II.

4798144078_5473bdd30e.jpg

4797517533_0c68af4994_b.jpg

snberk103

macrumors 603
Oct 22, 2007
An Island in the Salish Sea
You know... for a first time - they're actually pretty good. I think sunset shots have all been done, but those are 1st rate. Nicely done. :)

If I had one quibble, its the shot with the boat. It would have been nice if the boat had been on a 3rds line, using the expanse of water as the frame, or better yet the junction of 3rds lines. And yes, I know you did not have control over the boat, etc etc.... but that is the difference between great shots and really good shots....

Aflatminer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 14, 2010
Thanks for the compliments. Yeah I know sunsets are cliche but I figured it would be good exposure practice for a beginner and honestly, I couldn't not take pictures of that sky ;). As for the composition, the photo with the boat is actually cropped as I didn't spot some nearby trees in the viewfinder, not that it really changes all that much.

Here is the original, uncropped and unstraightened :rolleyes: version...

4798483292_0fb89f27da.jpg

The images on my HD are actually much sharper, iPhoto only gave me the option to upload "web" sized versions to flickr so they went a little soft when I blew them up a bit before pasting the url (I am new to posting, converting photos, and using Macs haha).

But again, thanks for the kind review, its nice to get a few keepers this early in the game, it keeps me going.

Doylem

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2006
Wherever I hang my hat...
Yeah I know sunsets are cliche