My Black Menu Bar

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Creebe, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. Creebe, Mar 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2011

    Creebe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #1
    [​IMG]
    Click to see the larger image

    So here is a screenshot of my black menu bar. As you can see, the time is still black, and therefore barely visible. Does anyone else have this problem? Solutions?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Did you try rebooting? That's a basic early step in troubleshooting.
     
  3. iVeBeenDrinkin' macrumors 65816

    iVeBeenDrinkin'

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    +1000000000
     
  4. Creebe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
  5. jtimleck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #5
    corrupt system fonts maybe? font repair (apps > font book). just an idea...
     
  6. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #6
    go to system preferences -> universal access.
    click on the Seeing tab
    change Display to "white on black", and then back again to "black on white".

    does that help?

    also, have you been messing around with any theming software, like Candybar?

    also, go into the Desktop system preference and check and uncheck "translucent menu bar".
     
  7. Creebe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
  8. iVeBeenDrinkin' macrumors 65816

    iVeBeenDrinkin'

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #8
    Good advice, can you show us your background pic?
     
  9. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #9
    Have you installed any customization programs at all?
    For instance, Nocturne ( http://blacktree.com/ ), has a preference to turn the menubar black. Do you have it installed?
     
  10. iVeBeenDrinkin' macrumors 65816

    iVeBeenDrinkin'

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #10
    Third party is my guess too
     
  11. Creebe, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2011

    Creebe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #11
    okay yes I did use Candybar for the custom icons on my dock.

    my menu bar isn't translucent.

    i tried to change my wallpaper but nothing happened.

    here's a screenshot:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    Be aware that there are many, many posts in this forum from those who customized their Dock, desktop, icons, Menu Bar, etc. and ran into significant problems, as a result. I'd rather have a somewhat less fancy, but fully functional Mac.
     

Share This Page