My camcorder buying experience

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by safetyobc, Nov 30, 2007.

1. safetyobc macrumors 6502

safetyobc

I just purchased a "budget" camcorder. I decided on the JVC GR-D750.

It is a very entry level camcorder, but that is what I wanted. All I wanted to do is video my kids at thier school functions, at home, family outings, etc. And be able to import that footage to my Macbook Pro for editing via iMovie (at least for now).

I am VERY new to the video biz. I bought a "budget" camcorder (will pick up at Circuit City tomorrow via the buy online and pickup in store). I did do my research though and picked the best reviewed "budget" camcorder that I could find (JVC GR-D750). I had it narrowed down between the Canon ZR800, Panasonic PV-GS80 and the JVC GR-750. The Canon's reviews had a lot of complaints of noise when they recorded. The Panasonic and the JVC were close in thier reviews, but I finally decided on the JVC because of tons of positive reviews and the fact that it has a light. I know that is a minor thing, but I have an old VHS-C camcorder (panasonic) that has the light and I have used it on occasion to video the kids sleeping or and a few other things. I liked the looks of the Panasonic, but there were a few reviews about the low light quality that turned me to the JVC. I realize the JVC won't be great in low light, it will likely not even be good, but for me I think it will suit my needs. I could have opted for the higher model that was the JVC GR-DV770 that added the SD card and digital photograph, but honestly these type cams take crappy pics. I have a very nice Canon digital camera that takes EXCELLENT pictures so I didn't need or want that option in the camcorder.