My DOCSIS 3.0 modem has reached Comcast end-of-life, which new to buy?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mtbdudex, Feb 17, 2016.

  1. mtbdudex macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #1
    Well I learned something yesterday, my DOCSIS 3.0 modem, Arris Model SB6120, has reached Comcast "end-of-life", which new to buy?
    Current one bought 3-4 years ago,
    http://www.amazon.com/Motorola-SB6120-SURFboard-eXtreme-Broadband/dp/B001UI2FPE
    [​IMG]

    Comcast list their approved devices here:
    http://mydeviceinfo.comcast.net/
    Here they make it "easy" to buy thru amazon.
    Suggestions appreciated.
    http://mynewmodem.comcast.net/
    [​IMG]


    I have an Apple Airport Extreme Gen6, so not looking for a wifi one.....just your basic fast one.
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    The modem you choose should include a 1000base-t (gigabit port) that connects to the LAN (local area network)!
     
  3. mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #3
    Yep, my old one did, specs of it
    and surely the new one I buy will also :D
    So, any suggestions from the list?
    Which do you use?
     
  4. satcomer, Feb 17, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2016

    satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #4
    I would go with the Motorola modem since it is the newest in the list.
     
  5. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    Keep in mind that if you are getting your full internet speed, you really don't need to replace your modem. Comcast isn't going to shut off the SB6120 from work at all at this point. DOCSIS 3.1 will be released throughout Comcast's network by 2018 so all these 3.0 modems will be obsolete then.
     
  6. mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #6
    ^^^well that's good to know, so makes me wonder why they were so adamant over the phone I needed to get a new one ... After 2 calls and 35 minutes they did stuff on their end to make it work again. I'll check my
    Actual upload download speed to what I'm paying for.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    What speed tier are you paying for now?

    Here is what is likely going on. Your cable modem "bonds" channels for both upload and download. The 6121 you have can only bond four download channels, so will not support the higher speed tiers. If you go to that Comcast page you linked and move the speed tier slider down, you will see modems on the list disappear (not supported). When you go from Extreme 105 to Blast!, the 6121 drops off the list because it does not support enough channels for that speed tier.

    If you run the slider all the way down, you can see which modems support the highest speed tiers and are available for retail purchase. I went through this same thing recently with Time Warner and ended up getting the SB6183. There is a newer SB6190 out, but the firmware seems immature and it costs more, for no real practical benefit at this point IMO.

    The other issue is, even if you are on a lower speed tier, having a cable modem that can bond more channels is a good thing as you have access to more channels during times the pipes are getting saturated upstream. I know on Time Warner now, even the lower tiers use eight channel download bonding.

    Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 10.49.14 AM.png
     
  8. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #8
    My modem is also EOL at Comcast but I just checked with them via chat whether or not my "Blast" speed is OK. It is.

    The modem was on the approved list until recently.
     
  9. mtbdudex, Feb 17, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2016

    mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #9
    Hey thanks, I'm at Blast service, so possible I'm not getting the speed I should, 25 Mbps.
    It does drop off when using their slider view like you mentioned....
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    other packages - https://www.xfinity.com/upgrade-center/offers#upgrade-internet

    Ok - I just ran this test, twice, and it shows me way fast! So, my old cable modem is "ok", but it's 2am so this is the best possible time for performance, when everyone in my neighborhood sleeping (besides me :rolleyes: )
    http://www.speedtest.net/
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    >>If I'm getting nearly 90 Mbps, why'd it drop off in their slider view???

    I'll try it at prime time 8pm, but for now looks like I'm getting what I pay for.
    So, full circle:
    (correct me here if I'm wrong on the below)
    1) My DOCSIS 3.0 modem is working now, after 2 service calls to Comcast
    >>also after I did my own reset via un-plug the power and even the Comcast iPhone app reset did not work
    2) it has 4 x 4 channels (4 downstream and 4 upstream) - this is the SB6120
    3) at 2am I get nearly 90 Mbps, which per the specs is not un-expected, "The SB6120 is up to 4 times faster than DOCSIS 2.0 broadband cable modems making it capable of reaching data rates up to 150 Mbps"
    4) COMCAST will NOT be upgrading their network rendering my DOCSIS 3.0 modem not usable, however it may limit my future speeds, someday ....

    [edit] my 6am speed, still FAST!!
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    You are not wrong, but you did not touch on one possible advantage of a newer cable modem even with your current speed tier. Like I mentioned, the newer models can bond more download channels, so even at the same speed tier a new modem would bond eight or even 16 download channels and likely give you more consistent downloads speeds during busy periods.
     
  11. mtbdudex, Feb 18, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2016

    mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #11
    I'll post some speed tests tonight here, again I'm amazed at these speeds... nearly 90 MB/s!

    7pm EST
    [​IMG]

    9:20pm EST
    [​IMG]

    8:40pm on a Friday night
    [​IMG]

    8am Saturday morning
    [​IMG]
     
  12. satcomer, Feb 18, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2016

    satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #12
    The drop is because the way ISPs use cable to deliver data. You probably share data with several neighbors that stream video at night or stream music, etc. The slight drop is expected during the night peek hours and in your case it's looks like your better off then most!
     
  13. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #13
    I have a couple of Arris SB6141 modems. Service is 100mbps at one location (Cox) and 10mbps at the other (local cable co). Both modems deliver the rated speed.
     
  14. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    Personally, I'd not get any comcast cable modems. I still don't understand what you mean by EOL? I have an old zoom cable modem that is probably in excess of 5 years (docsis 3) and it still works fine.

    I choose to buy my own, first I don't need comcast charging me more, secondly I don't want them setting up an xfinity wifi hotspot on my account, i.e., using the cable modems with wifi built in, automatically creates a xfnity wifi hotspot
     
  15. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #15
    EOL is Comcast's designation. See http://mynewmodem.comcast.net/ and check the box for Filter: End-Of-Life Devices.
     
  16. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #16
    I know its their designation but does that mean in reality that the modem stops working or won't work on comcast?
     
  17. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #17
    Hard to say since the link on that page to the "EOL FAQ" is dead.
     
  18. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #18
    That's my point exactly. If its working as I surmise it will, don't bother, especially if they're pushing you toward one of their cable modems.
     
  19. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #19
    It means that if you call Comcast for support they will tell you that you need a new modem. As long as the existing modem continues to work and gets you the speed you're paying for, then don't upgrade it until you have to.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 19, 2016 ---
    That list of modems are just links to Amazon; Comcast isn't selling those to you. (It wouldn't surprise me if Comcast gets some affiliate income, however.)
     
  20. jterp7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #20
    yeah i upgraded sometime last year to the 6183 which has been pretty good so far from the 6121, which on paper ups the ceiling from 172 to 686. I think the last time I ran a test, i was getting 150.

    I basically got spammed phone calls and emails from comcast about needing to upgrade the modem for several months beforehand.
     
  21. mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #21
    Well my SB6120 cable modem is acting flaky, I've reset it countless times and called comcast, etc.
    So after much waste of time I'm buying a new one.
    Went future proofing as much as I could, ARRIS SURFboard SB6190 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem.
    "
    • Internet speeds up to 1.4 Gbps DOWNLOAD and 262 Mbps UPLOAD based on your Cable ISP subscription.
    • 32 DOWNLOAD & 8 UPLOAD channels to future proof your modem as your Cable ISP enhances service offerings
    "
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016PE1X5K
    [​IMG]
     
  22. mtbdudex, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2016

    mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #22
    No internet for 4 days at home, my family not happy.
    The new SB6190 came in, since I was in Mexico for 5 days my wife installed it earlier today, Ijust came home and here is 1st speed test.

    btw, based on advice she called customer service for the install.

    I'm still at Blast service, so this while faster than what I'm rated/paying for (25 MB/s), it's no faster than my now bad SB6120.
    fwiw: I'm at the end of a private road, we have 16 homes that could run off this Comcast branch from main road, I'm not sure if some get the internet via other means.

    Friday Feb-26 9:20pm EST
    [​IMG]

    Saturday Feb-27 5am EST
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Saturday Feb-27 9pm EST
    [​IMG]

    Thursday Mar-3-2016
    [​IMG]
     
  23. cube, Feb 27, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2016
  24. Jozone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #24
    I was in the exact same boat as you (SB6120), and opted for a SB6183 -- must say I miss the aesthetics of the SB6120.
     

Share This Page