My Dual G4's Showing It's Age, Issues Playing HD Quality Video

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Impreza, Oct 25, 2007.

1. Impreza macrumors member

Impreza

So, recently the anime shows I've been watching are being shown in HD intended for 720p (1280x720). XViD encodes are available in avi format and play okay, but a lot of uploaders are encoding them in mkv with subtitles. Now the issue is that the video slows down, so the audio doesn't even sync. I came to a conclusion that my dual G4 is showing it's age. So, after 4+ years of service, I'm thinking about upgrading. At least I got my money's worth instead of having to build a new computer every 1 1/2 years with a PC.

Anyhoo, would a Mac Mini be sufficient to play HD videos? Or would I have to get a QuadCore tower? I'm a graphic designer and I already get by with my 17" Powerbook and my dual G4. I don't really do any video editing on Final Cut Pro or do anything crazy, but I also wouldn't mind having the power to do so if it's cost effective to plump down $2500 for a new tower. I'm just doing my once in every 5-years computer upgrade, I suppose. Any suggestions or insight would be great! Thanks!

2. motomac macrumors member

It sounds to me like an iMac would better suit you. Sure you could get a $2500 Mac Pro, but if your not doing some really really heavy HDV editing while running multiple huge apps at once and playing wow at the same time, then the Mac Pro may be overkill.

There are many iMac users on here that edit video, even quite a few that do HD video, and they are having great sucess in doing it also.

You could get a nice 24" 2.4Ghz iMac with the stock 1 gig ram and 320 HD for about $1700. Then, take $220 and get you a 500gig FW800 external HDD from OWC. Then take $172 and go get a 4 gig ram kit from OWC as well.