My EDGE network keeps dropping.........

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by fab5freddy, Mar 27, 2008.

  1. fab5freddy macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #1
    i just got a new iPhone 1.1.4 and i live in New York City.
    I keep losing my EDGE network in NEW YORK City.

    IS this normal that you keep dropping your EDGE signal ?

    Seems really bad....

    Are there any things i can do to improve my signal ?

    Thanks for any advice !
     
  2. GSA190 macrumors member

    GSA190

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #2
    Maybe you just happen to be in a terrible EDGE network area?
     
  3. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #3
    ok, So is New York City a bad EDGE network area ?
     
  4. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #4
    Try a hard-boot...

    turn your iPhone off, and turn it back on holding down the On/Off button and the Home button until the Apple appears. Keep us advised. :cool:
     
  5. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #5
    So i guess a Restore helps the EDGE network.....?
     
  6. knoxtown macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #6
    Mine wasn't working all day either... I'm in Knoxville.
     
  7. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    or just reset the network go to settings and go to reset and there it will be
     
  8. msmith2112 macrumors 6502

    msmith2112

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (8Gb iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

    I've had a little trouble the last few days as well.
     
  9. Marcjcd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #9
    I am also in NYC and I had problems with EDGE last night. iPhone from time to time when retrieving emails would say cant connect to EDGE. Then in a few minutes would connect fine... then a half hour later not be able to connect. This went on for a few hours and now it seems fine. I was in the same locations I always am with my iPhone... My Home! :)
     
  10. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #10
    Yes you need to reset your iPhone occasionally. I was told by ATT to reset your phone everyday (this goes for all phones). EDGE flakes out like that with me occasionally. A reset usually takes care of it.
     

Share This Page