My Experience w/ Mac Pro and Modern Warfare 2 Under Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Velin, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. Velin macrumors 65816

    Velin

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Hearst Castle
    #1
    Short note about my experiences running Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 on my early 2008 Mac Pro. I'm using Bootcamp + Windows 7 ultimate, 32-bit, on a 10,000 rpm Velociraptor drive. I'm using the Snow Leopard drivers that came with Bootcamp. Even though the Snow Leopard bootcamp drivers are designated as XP and Vista only, they have worked well enough with Windows 7. I've had only one problem, with my microphone. More about that below.

    Here are the Mac specs:

    [​IMG]

    Video:

    [​IMG]


    Booted up into Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit (I have around 80 gig for the partition). Did all the Windows updates.

    Downloaded the game from Steam while using Internet Explorer 8 (which you also need to log into to play online for multiplayer). Install was really simple. No problems. (IE8 is a crappy browser, use Chrome or Safari for regular surfing in Windoze.)

    Most of the time, game played great. Smooth graphics, no glitches or bugs, worked pretty flawlessly the first time I started the game and every time since then. I expected a lot more problems, but had almost none.

    Once in the game I boosted the game resolution up to 1920 x 1200, turned up most of the effects/settings (except the aliasing), and played around. Worked pretty well in both single-player and online multiplayer. Good graphics, no problems or crashes. My NEC monitor is a pretty good IPS panel, so the game really does look good from all angles.

    Now there have been some slowdowns in multiplayer once in a while. I'm unsure if that's the graphics being a bit too high for the 8800 GT, or if it's a crappy host. Usually the game runs really well, slowdowns are rare -- but noticeable when they happen. I tend to think it's a crappy host, i.e. someone with insufficient bandwidth to host the game, or their running lots of torrents etc. while hosting.

    Bottom line, if you want to play the game, go for it. It's working fine with this setup.


    The one downside is the microphone. I have a pro mic plugged into the "line in" jack on the back of the Pro. You can barely hear me speak. The settings are correct -- I think it's the Bootcamp Vista drivers that aren't playing well with Windows 7. Even in Windows Sound Recorder I can't hear myself through the mic.

    Hoping Apple gets the Windows 7 Bootcamp drivers to us quick.


    If I have time later I'll edit the post and post some screenshots, if I figure out how to do it in Windoze (much easier in OS X).
     
  2. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #2
    It's actually much easier to create a screenshot in Windows, because you don't even need any additional software for it: Just press Ctrl-PrintScreen. The only problem with that will be the castrated Apple keyboard that does not follow any standards. I use a Microsoft keyboard with my Mac Pro because I got sick and tired of Apple's programmer-unfriendly keyboard layouts.

    You should install 64-Bit Windows on your Mac Pro, by the way. It's faster and more reliable than its 32-Bit sibling and the only option if you want to take full advantage of your hardware configuration. If you don't have the DVD, order it from Microsoft, they'll send it to you for a shipping charge. Windows Vista and Windows 7 licenses always cover both architectures, even if you only have the medium for one of the two.
     
  3. Velin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Velin

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Hearst Castle
    #3
    I really wanted to, but I hesitated because the Windows 7 bootcamp drivers aren't out yet.

    I simply don't know enough about the differences between 32- and 64-bit architectures, coupled with the Snow Leaopard Vista drivers in a Windows 7 environment. If someone knows whether this would cause a problem with 64-bit Windows 7, perhaps let the forum know.
     
  4. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #4
    There's a few major advantages including the ability to use ALL your ram, not just 3GB of it.

    Furthermore, the 64-bit boot camp drivers are available on your Snow Leopard disk. Windows 7 is nothing more than just a upped version of Vista. All Vista drivers work on Windows 7. Obviously you'd want to update the graphics drivers, but beyond that, it's exactly the same.
     
  5. charlesbronsen macrumors 6502a

    charlesbronsen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ont
    #5
    Are the bootcamp drivers on the $29 SL disk as well?
     
  6. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #6
    It's really easy on the mac side too: just hit command+shift+3 for a fullscreen shot, command+shift+4 for a select portion of the screen, and command+shift+4+space for a window. It saves on your desktop. And I have W7 x64 running fine on my MBP with the BootCamp drivers, even tho my mic doesn't work.
     
  7. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    They are not?
    Now I'm wondering what drivers I installed... :confused:

    I've got Windows 7 Pro 64bit installed on a separate drive on my '09 Mac Pro and it works fine so far (it runs, not that Windows 7 is fine ;)).

    Drives are on the Snow Leopard CD, I just updated the drivers for the Radeon card (got new ones from AMD).

    MW2 runs great with Win7. My Apple 4870 makes 2560x1600 with maximum details and highest AA, looks absolutely great.
     
  8. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #8
    Yes
     

Share This Page