My Experiences with El Cap

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by flowrider, Jul 30, 2015.

  1. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #1
    I've done something with this beta that I don't ever recall doing with an OS Beta release before - I've made it my main OS on my Mac Pro. I'm leaving my MBA at 10.10.4. (I have 8 internal storage devices (4 SSDs, 3 HDDs and 1 SSHD) so I can readily switch OS's as I desire.

    I have a MVC modified Gigabyte GTX780. But, my card has revision A of the GK110. This means, unlike later GPUs) it will operate with Apple's drivers. It did slow up a bit until the Nvidia Beta driver came out. But, at least for me, having revision A of the chip is a godsend.

    Any way, for me, El Cap has very few bugs and is is working for me. I'm now on PB3. My issues so far.

    1. I sometimes get a panic on startup or on a restart, the machine then restarts on it's own and all is good. This happened about 90% of the time on PB1 and half the time on PB2. I have not have enough time in PB3 to form an opinion.

    2. Safari is a mixed bag. It feels faster, but has problems with some web sites. eBay and PayPal to name a couple. And there is an issue on this forum. When I try to upload a file I get a "Plug-in Failure" error. To upload I need to use Firefox. Not sure yet if I'll default to Firefox or not.

    3. An old program I use called "Imprint" did not work at first, but is working fine now. TechTool Pro 8 is still not working. Apple's Calender is still not working. Microsoft's calendar in Outlook is working fine however.
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    Did you turn off the Flash uploader in the forum preferences?
     
  3. flowrider thread starter macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  4. flowrider thread starter macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
    Just a little update. Still using El Cap as my main OS. No more Panics on StartUp since PB3 (now on PB4). No more site anomalies with Safari. Safari feels snappier, but when shutdown, Safari gives me a spinning wheel and shutdown is slow. Only programs still not working are Apple's Calendar (it appears that it's trying to move my data to the cloud, which I do not want) but the transfer never happens. Also TTP8 still not working. MicroMat certainly slow with not issuing a working beta.

    Lou
     
  5. flowrider thread starter macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    Heard back from Micromat and got what I consider a BS response:

    Lou
     
  6. flowrider thread starter macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    With PB5, TechTool Pro 8.02 is working sort of. When opened it installed a new helper. And you can run the diagnostic tests fine, but the tool box (or tools section) will not open so so none of those operations can be performed.

    Lou
     
  7. Zakzilla macrumors member

    Zakzilla

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7

    Would you say PB5 is stable enough to run as my main OS? I'm so excited to try El Capitan but the earlier betas seemed too unstable. At this point it may be better just to wait for the GM, but I'm so excited to check out the performance improvements with Metal.
     
  8. flowrider thread starter macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #8
    ^^^^As I indicated above, I've been using it as my main OS since Day One. However, I would have never attempted to do this if I did not have Yosemite Backups. My storage devices are explained in my initial post. My MBA is still running Yosemite (10.10.5). I don't know what your machine is, but if it's not a desktop with backups, I would say no. As much as I like it, it's still a Beta.

    Lou
     
  9. Zakzilla macrumors member

    Zakzilla

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    Gotcha, that's the logical response lol. I will probably just wait it out until the actual release, as I'm unable to create a separate partition with FileVault on. But I'm very excited for it
     

Share This Page