My Experiences with three different iMac i5/i7s

Discussion in 'iMac' started by msw123307, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. msw123307 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #1
    I thought I would recap my experiences and maybe it may help some of you. Some of this I have posted in other threads - so I'll try to keep it as brief as possible.

    I initially was upgraded from a 24" to a 27" via Applecare because of a HDD failure, among other problems. My problems with the 24" started at the beginning of Nov., that week I took my iMac to the store and back 4 times. I dealt with some flaky Apple reps who didn't return my calls or emails, and finally reached a couple who would. I could go into detail here..but I'll leave it at that.

    I first opted to pay an extra $300 on my replacement, to upgrade to the i5. I received it after 2 weeks, restored from my SL backup - and the hard drive grinding noises began. It was pretty constant, so I swapped it out.

    Apple upgraded me to an i7 because of the problems discussed. I had read the HD threads and noticed many people were experiencing problems with the Seagate 1 TB drive. I asked if there was a way they could ensure I didn't get the Seagate, but they couldn't. And I did. And the grinding was back. An Apple rep told me to try restoring my computer completely by creating a new partition (he said he preferred this because it reset boot settings) and installing the OS. He didn't want me to install my files. So I did. The HD noises were faintly there, but not nearly as bad. Then I restored from my TM backup, minus the "Settings" portion. The noises were more apparent again.

    I was upgraded to a 2TB after being escalated up the food chain (again), and explaining the issues many users were having. I received the 2 TB machine last Friday. It is much quieter. I don't notice the grinding noises very much at all, it isn't silent but I couldn't even focus with the 1 TB drives.

    I have seen a couple weird things happen though. For example, this morning my screen saver was inexplicably changed from Arabesque to Flurry. I didn't change it. Another example - I put a DVD in last night, and it wouldn't eject. I had to restart the computer. This happened on one of my other replacements too. My 24" issues started with weird screen saver problems (not activating, etc.) Putting this together with the grinding noises being more apparent when files were restored...I really am worried that restoring like this creates conflicts with settings or pref. or some type of system files.

    For all those wondering, I haven't done the 'yellow' test. My first 27" did have a very apparent tinge, however.

    I am keeping this iMac. I don't want to go through the hassle again. If I were buying a new iMac, I may not say the same thing though. If I could wait, I probably would. But since I was upgraded it's not as big of an issue. I'm more worried about the TM restore files. Hope this may be helpful for some of you.
     
  2. msw123307 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #2
    Wanted to update this. Today on my i7 I'm back to having problems again.

    First - the bluetooth went out.

    I use the magic mouse so I had to dig out my Logitech mouse. It was extremely jittery and I couldn't control it, even if I slowed the track speed down it didn't move across the screen smoothly. Then both clicks somehow turned into right click, and I couldn't do anything!

    So, no bluetooth now, no Logitech mouse, no nothing. Luckily, a PRAM reset turned bluetooth back on.

    I tried reinstalling the Logitech control center. The mouse is still acting this way. If I plug it into my Macbook, no problems. I am really starting to lose my faith in Apple. I've been through 3 returns already. I'm nearing the end of my rope.
     
  3. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #3
    Thanks for the detail :)

    If I were you I'd do a clean install and just copy the data you need from backups and reinstall your apps. TM is great for recovering after a lost HDD, for example, but I don't think it's ideal for moving Macs. There's a migration tool for that, no?

    I'll just be copying my data to an external and then putting it into my new user area when my iMac comes. Make the most of it being a fresh install and all that, make sure I don't crap it up with old settings/configs/incompatibilities.
     
  4. msw123307 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #4
    What's the best way to do that?

    I know it gives you an option to transfer info when you install SL, but it sounds like you're saying not to select "restore from a Time Machine backup." Right now that's the only way I've got my files. So should I just manually back up my music, movies, etc or is there a way to take them from the TM backup?
     
  5. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #5
    You'll have to forgive me, I've not actually 'retired' a Mac as yet, only replaced HDDs (which I did using superduper! to make an exact copy).

    However, what I plan to do when I move my stuff off of the Mac Pro (server) and onto the iMac is to connect over the network from the iMac to the Mac Pro and literally copy all of my folders across that have the stuff in I need. Almost all, if not all, of it is going to be in my home folder. If I wasn't connecting to the Mac Pro over the network I think I'd just copy my entire home folder onto an external HDD and then hook it up to the iMac and plunder the bits I need.

    It's so rare that we get a chance to sort out all of our stuff and 'start over'. My Mac Pro has been accumulating my work (and crap, ahem) since 2006, and has been upgraded 10.4 -> 10.6. It's time to just manually take the stuff I need to the nice, fresh 10.6 install on the iMac - I believe (my little theory) that I'll be better set for avoiding software glitches, and succeeding through OS upgrades, in the future by taking this approach.
     
  6. Camzor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #6
    Use the program called Migration Assistant. There should be an option right from the get-go that lets you restore from a Time Machine backup.
     
  7. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #7
    I think that defeats the objective here TBH. Given all the software glitches described I wholly recommend just manually copying the things that are actually needed rather than using an automatic process.
     
  8. msw123307 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #8
    So just take the 'music' folder for my iTunes library, 'photos,' library for pictures, etc. What about applications? Will copying that folder over include some of the settings files that maybe are causing problems?

    I'll really have to copy all this to an external HD, because I don't have another iMac. I just dont want to forget anything! I thought this was what TM was for, but unfortunately it just doesn't work out like that.
     
  9. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #9
    Yeah, just copying the libraries should work fine.

    Reinstall applications from scratch; copy the installers if you have them but don't copy the installed apps.

    If you have a big enough external you could even use something like SuperDuper! to clone your current HDD onto the external. Then you've got the whole lot, so if you've forgotten something it's easy enough to get at it. :)

    I'm sure just restoring from Time Machine onto a new machine works fine for some (most?) people, but given the issues you've had it makes much more sense to start over.
     
  10. scroto macrumors regular

    scroto

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    Trenton, MI
  11. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #11
    OP, take this advice. :)

    OP, don't take this advice. :rolleyes:
     
  12. msw123307 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #12
    Today something strange happened again. I have my spaces set up to turn the display off when I scroll in the bottom right corner. I did it a few mins ago, and the display dimmed and stuck on about 20% brightness. Whatttt?

    It's almost like Apple defeated the purpose of TM. If only there was some type of built in scanner that could weed out the corrupted files upon a restore from TM backup.

    My WIFI seems to be choosing to quit on me too. I can turn airport on and off and it works fine. I'm beginning to wonder if it's a hardware problem.

    But I guess I should try your method of backup first. Ughh I really was hoping that I wouldn't have to!
     
  13. msw123307 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #13
    Well I'm going to try this today.

    I created a new TM backup, and set another partition for a SuperDuper backup as well. I'm hoping I can use migration assistant to reinstall the iTunes library/Movie/iphoto library without copying any corrupt settings.

    I guess I probably shouldn't copy anything else then. Should I use the same user name when I reinstall? I ran into a problem awhile back when I tried to restore Time Machine, said it couldn't write to the same user name or something.

    Anyway, I'll update this on my progress. I've just gotta figure out how to do a repartition the main HD for a clean install. An Apple tech walked me through it a few wks ago on another machine - but I want to get the settings straight.
     
  14. Dino1956 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #14
    I would have done exactly what miniconvert suggested. Erase & Install. No saving of Settings, No Migration, etc... Nothing connected Either. No Peripherals, Hard Drives. Just iMac, Keyboard & Magic Mouse. No installation of additional Programs. This way you will definitely know if your problems come back, then it is hardware issue.
     
  15. msw123307 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #15
    Well I'm back to a blank slate now. I've got my stuff backed up, just need to get it back on. Migration Assistant should be good for iTunes/iPhoto. Hoping that that's the best way to do it without (hopefully) copying any disk errors over?

    The only other thing I'm concerned about is Mail. How can I port over my Gmail/Mobile me settings from within the Mail app? Was hoping to do that if possible.

    Hopefully, copying this minimal # of settings over will fix my problems. I'm tired of dealing with this. :eek:
     
  16. msw123307 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #16
    Yeah I'm just planning to port over my music, pictures, and mail stuff.

    I unplugged my HD's, have speakers/hub connected, but don't think that will be an issue.

    I'm going to start manually installing all my apps again too, but am going to download them all, so I don't port over anything that can be conflicting.

    I just hope iTunes, iPhoto, and Mail don't bring over whatever was causing my problems.
     
  17. msw123307 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #17
    I was going to use migration assistant to put iTunes back on my computer. But Migration Assistant won't let me select iTunes from my SD backup without also selecting my user name for the computer, which has a size of 2 gb for some reason. What is stored on that file? Also - can SuperDuper backup thumb drives as well?

    I'm trying copying my music folder from the SD backup to the new system. Hopefully that works.

    Gotta love FW800.
     
  18. sparkie1984 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #18
    fair play on blagging all those upgrades mate :)
     
  19. msw123307 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #19
    This really seems to be a neverending thing for me.

    I spent all day yesterday backing everything up, organizing my stuff so i had enough room for SuperDuper and TM backup, and doing a clean install.

    So I restored itunes, iphoto, etc. Worked fine.

    My first problem was trying to sync up my Mobile Me. It copied my keychain, which is fine I suppose. Would have been nice if it told me where the backup originated from. Then it asked for the password for my iMac, and wouldn't take it. It was only when I typed in the password for my previous iMac that it worked.

    Then for some odd reason iTunes won't detect my iPhone. I want it to open on connection, but not sync. It doesn't appear to want to do either. There is an option for "sync automatically" that will work if itunes is running.

    If I manually open iTunes and sync with no options checked, it works fine. But I never had to do this previously. There used to be an option for "open iTunes when a phone is connected" but apparently that option is long gone.

    I've seriously spent most of the past few days on this and am more confused than I was when I started.
     
  20. Pachang macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #20
    Ok here's your problem. You're hoping.
    I've been reading this thread and it's hurting my soul

    I'm sorry to do this to you but your're going to have to do a fresh install.
    NO MIGRATION ASSISTANT NO NOTHING
    The point of migration assistant was for apple to make it look like they had some sort of system to transfer files from your old computer to your new one for noobs...not for real people to actually use it.

    the only thing you are going to do is do a fresh install. Totally wipe your drive, no partitions holding anything. Just have a blank hard drive and the external hard drive you have your files you want to transfer over. It doesn't matter at all what your user name is this way

    Once the install is over (you should be good at it by now) start copying files. Do this by just dragging and dropping the files onto your new computer into a folder called "backup" or something. Once thats done disconnect your external and just work from there. There should be a way to import photo libraries from folders and files. For iTunes just grab all the folders and drop them into your iTunes window. Don't copy apps over. Re-download/install them from discs.

    I wish you luck mate. Hope it fixes your problems. If not I'd go back to apple and let loose on them.
     
  21. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #21

    +1

    It seems clear especially after Time Machine (minus Settings) that you must perform a clean install.

    Organize your HDD. Use OSX to your advantage. Pictures in one place Photo Library. Music in one place iTunes. Word files in Documents. Clean install 10.6. Install updates. Then drag the aforementioned files back onto the drive.
     
  22. msw123307 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #22
    If you think it's' hurting you, imagine me! I actually DIDN'T use migration assistant. I just dragged and dropped my Music folder and Photos folder.

    iTunes wouldn't launch when I plugged my iPhone in. I was able to fix that by trashing the .plist files. The one thing I did forget to do with this install was install the system updates before anything else after the clean install, so I thought maybe that's what caused the conflict there.

    Then I tried to sync with Mobile Me, and that was a complete nightmare. For example, I want it to sync with everything (in theory). So it overwrites my new keychain with the keychain from my dead HDD iMac. And I have no idea if that keychain is part of the reason my iMac died in the first place.

    There's an option to transfer all Mobile Me info from your computer to the cloud to make it the main copy of things. Which is what I need to do once I get everything set up correctly. But you can't enable Mobile Me in the pref pane until you do - because if you did it might auto-sync and give me the old keychain again. Apple really doesn't provide much documentation on stuff like this so it really isn't clear what the hell is going to happen. Syncing the iPhone is another thing too. If everything's over the air - do I even need to mess with syncing my email accounts for example(set up via Mail)?

    One thing I've discovered from this situation - Apple has changed some of their program options to make things more simple..but it has done the exact opposite. iTunes used to have an option if you plugged your iPhone in - (set iTunes to open when a device is plugged in). This option is long gone.

    Combine this with some of the other things that were happening - not recognizing mouse clicks with the magic mouse, for example, and I've just set up my last clean install. (Already on my 2nd restart the computer had been sitting for about 5 mins after a restart. I tried to use magic mouse, and it was like I had to touch it to jar it awake? The Bluetooth icon was on - but it was just the B logo - it was like the mouse wasn't activated. The computer had already been on plenty of time. If I go under settings I can see the "Apple Wireless mouse" is connected as well as some unknown device that shows not connected?? It says the type is unknown - but it is paired. What the hell - I just did a clean install?)

    I placed a call to Applecare and fully expect that I'm going to have to go for my 4th replacement. This issue has been going on for over 2 mos now. I'm still crossing my fingers, but it looks like I may have gotten yet another lemon.
     
  23. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #23
    iPhone interaction with iTunes should work the same as the iPod Touch. I am able to do that. That option is available via a radio button in iTunes under Summary for my iPod Touch.
     
  24. msw123307 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #24
    The radio button under Preferences is related to automatic syncing. There is also another option under the device summary - but it is also related to automatic syncing. The option for "open iTunes with this device" is gone. Nevertheless - this was remedied with a .plist refresh. But it really speaks to what Apple is trying, unsuccessfully to do.
     
  25. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #25
    Okay, in the midst of your issues something may have happened to your iTunes because I am not missing that feature. Like I said, it should be the same with the iPhone and iPod Touch but maybe it's different for the iPhone. Hopefully someone with an iPhone will confirm this but meanwhile here's a screenshot of my iTunes with my iPod Touch connected and the feature to "Open iTunes when this iPod is Attached" is very much there and it works. Now granted it does begin to sync when attached but it opens automatically when I connect it. Were you looking for it to do something different?
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page