My external HDD is only accessible on mac & nt windows. plz help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Zoe963, Mar 3, 2010.

1. Zoe963 macrumors newbie

Zoe963

Hey im a newbie with mac & would appreciate all help. i tried searching the forums but everyone was talking about things which were too confusing to me. i have just recently bought an external hdd. I added my data from my mac. however, whilst trying to access the hdd from a windows pc, i realised My external HDD is only accessible on mac & nt windows. plz help. will i be able to make the hdd compatible with both my mac and windows pc without losing my data?

also my friend has an hdd which she uses on her windows pc. im able to transfer files from her hdd to my mac but whenever i try to transfer files from my pac to her hdd it says the hdd cant be modified. i checked info and the hdd wasnt locked. I tried to check and change sharing&permission in disk utility but all options are invalid. thanks in advance for all help.

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

You're confusing.

What do you mean with "nt windows"? - Windows NT?

http://guides.macrumors.com/File_systems

Windows uses NTFS and FAT32 as file systems, on newer systems most probably only NTFS.

Mac OS X uses HFS+ as a file system.

FAT 32 can be read and written to by both Windows and Mac OS X,
    NTFS can only be read by Mac OS X, unless you install the free NTFS-3G drivers, which will allow you to write to NTFS formatted volumes in Mac OS X.
    Direct download link.

Also know, that FAT32 has a file size limit of 4GB, so no single file can be bigger than 4GB.

HFS+ can not be read or written to in Windows, unless you use Snow Leopard's Boot Camp NTFS capabilities or MacDrive.

3. Zoe963 thread starter macrumors newbie

Zoe963

im so sorry!

i mean't 'nt' is not. umm my hdd works fine on my mac but i can not open it on a windows pc.

i apologise. i tend to not realise how misleading my statements can be :(