iPhone X My eyesight is getting worse, iPhone X fault?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Larvas, Oct 4, 2018.

1. Larvas macrumors member

Larvas

Hey guys,

I have been using high quality phones and screens for a while now, and until last year, once I got the iPhone X, I didn't have any problems with my eyesight.

Absolutely nothing changed with my setup, I still have the same IPS monitor which I have been using for years, which I tested and it still works properly. I have my 15" MBP which I have been using for almost 4 years, also everything fine with it.

Now, I am getting older, I'm going to be 31 now, with an almost 16 year long computer/gaming career behind me, but I'm still having a hard time in acknowledging that my age + screen time affected my eyesight, since the whole thing started last year once I got the iPhone X.

I am aware of the PWM thing, I went through several tutorials on how to do it and tried everything which they suggested: https://gdgtpreview.com/2018/10/eyestrain-with-iphone-x-iphone-xs-and-iphone-xs-max/

With the tutorials and various "get a PWM Free Screen" articles I solved most of the issues, like migraines and having a foggy view after a few minutes of direct screen time on the iPhone, but my eyesight is still messy.

Basically I'm having half of a day good eyesight, the other half bad one, sometimes it's such a mess that I can't read a font 10 article from one meter away.

Did anyone else experience something like this, do you have any suggestions? I really don't want to get glasses since I have the feeling that it's just going to go downhill after that.

TL:DR

- had good eyesight
    - after getting iPhone X it got worse
    - I did figure out how to do it PWM free
    - I still believe that it's screwing up my eyesight

2. Phone Junky macrumors 65816

Phone Junky

31? LOL. Wait until you tack another 25 years on to that. :(

3. Newtons Apple, Oct 4, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2018

Newtons Apple macrumors Core

Newtons Apple