My finder using 101% CPU but why ?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sa3er, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. sa3er macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #1
    my system is too slow. why finder is using that much CUP ? can i remove it ?
    i'm not happy with my speed :(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Has the magnifying lens (the finder icon in the top right) got a dot in the middle of it? It could be indexing.
     
  3. sa3er thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #3
    what lens ?
    i can't see anything on the top right of finder
    its still 100% ...
     
  4. sa3er thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
  5. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #5
    You can open Terminal (in Utilities) and enter

    Code:
    killall Finder
    Or you could simply log out and then log in again.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    It's actually not an icon in Finder. It's the Spotlight icon, on the Menu Bar.

    You can determine if it's indexing by the Spotlight Menu Bar icon: [​IMG] (not indexing) [​IMG] (indexing)
    ... or you could simply Quit Finder and restart.
    ScreenCap 2.PNG
     
  7. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #7
    OK, now I'm puzzled! Why don't I have Quit Finder as an option in my Finder menu?
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    LOL! I thought that one would get your attention! :D

    To add a Quit Finder entry to the Finder menu, type this in Terminal:
    defaults write com.apple.finder QuitMenuItem -bool yes
    killall Finder​
     
  9. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #9
    See, we need Terminal in any case! :)
     
  10. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #10
    Finder sometimes gets itself spinning in some kind of CPU-intensive loop, for whatever reason or for no reason at all. When it happens, just do as the above posters suggested. It's fairly rare, but it does happen to me every once in a while.
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Actually, no. To add Quit to the menu, you only need to do that once and it remains on the menu. You don't need Terminal every time you want to quit Finder. Also, you can restart Finder without ever using Terminal by Command-Option-Esc or  > Force Quit then select Finder and Relaunch.
     
  12. sa3er thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #12
    if i kill finder now my open projects will lost ?
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    No, killing Finder only closes the Finder app. You can click the Finder icon on your Dock to restart it. It won't cause you to lose any documents.
     
  14. glenncal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #14
    An alternative way to relaunch Finder without using the terminal is to right click on the Finder in the dock while pressing the Option key on the keyboard. You will see a Relaunch option.
     
  15. sa3er thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #15
    tanx. option trick worked like a charm ;)
     
  16. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #16
    Thanks. I probably once knew that, but I'm so used to using Terminal now ...

    Thanks to GGJstudios for his reminders too.
     

Share This Page