Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

emf0401

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 14, 2011
Hi, I started programming with xcode one month ago, and I'm making my first app and I have some problems...

In my app I'm using a tab bar, scroll view,images, and a couple more things.

If I want to use the tab bar do I have to make a tab bar application? because when if i do it then when I try to use the scroll view, for example, it doesn't work. Or could I use a view-based application? I also tried that and when I use the simulator it doesn't show the tab bar.

Sorry if it is something stupid, but i'm new in all this and I try searching in google but i didn't find anything. Also sorry for my english I'm spanish :)
Thanks, Emilio.

admanimal

macrumors 68040
Apr 22, 2005
The templates are only helpful starting points. You can use any feature you'd like regardless of which template you start with.

jnoxx

macrumors 65816
Dec 29, 2010
Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
Tab-bar application should be fine. What do you mean the scroll-view "doesn't work"?

Double that.
Scrollviews only work if you set its contentsize larger then the size you putted it in the interface builder ;) just some things you should remember!
About the tabbar, you can start any application with blank, and just add what you want, it's a matter of learning how to do it, they provide you with some basics, to get started faster, in other words, whatever floats your boat.

emf0401

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 14, 2011
I also tried adding the code, and when I run the app with the simulator there's no scroll view. I learnt how to write the code for view based applecation, so I don't know if the code there is different.
Thank you for the answers

emf0401

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 14, 2011
Okay, sorry but i'm new and I don't know a lot of thing.
I'm right now in school so I will try to answer everything later. :)