My first iMac after 7 years: lost lost lost

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Racineur, Jun 13, 2013.

1. Racineur macrumors regular

Racineur

Hello, I will bee having a new iMac in a few weeks. Will replace my old faithful white iMac Intel C2Duo late 2006/2.0ghz/2 Ram/160DD). I keep my Macs a very long time as you can see. My needs: numerous short text docs on Word or Pages. Normal browsing Safari/Firefox/Chrome. I'm a more than enthusiastic photographer shooting 25% RAW 75% Jpeg. I PP my photos in Aperture 3, LR 4, Capture NX 2, Elements 11, DxO Optics Pro 8 and sometimes Pixelmator 2. I mostly adjust brightness, lightness, WB, Exposure, Burn there, Light here, resize, sharpen, vignette, etc. Never done any video editing, no gaming at all but AngryBirds, Peggle and Pinball HD.

10 friends say: buy iMac Core i5 2,9 GHz, 8 Go, DD 1T, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M. Will meet all your needs.

8 others say go for: Intel Core i7 3,4 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 675M

2 last say: Intel Core i7 3,4 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX.

I've read the the threads on the GeForce. Can't understand all that's said. Considering what I do require small power, I should go with my 10 friends. But considering I will be keeping the iMac at least 7 years, I should go for the 2 friends. And there's the MOR solution of my 8 friends. Money is no object but I don't like overkill machines that I will never use at their max.

In a nutshell: what would be the benefits of the i7?

In a nutshell: what would be the benefits of the 680MX?

Lastly: what about the combo i7 and GTX 675M?

I would appreciate a lot if you could help me. I've read many answers but they mostly apply to gaming and video editing.

Thanks a lot

2. WilliamG macrumors G3

3. negativzero macrumors 6502a

For your needs, even a Mac Mini would be sufficient. Just get one with a fusion drive and you're all set.

4. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

tom vilsack