My first iMac for Photography, help!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by gabi8, Jun 10, 2009.

1. gabi8 macrumors newbie

Hello friends
    First of all, Sorry for my english but it's my mother tongue and sure I have some mistakes...
    I'm new in the Mac world and I'm looking to buy a new desktop computer. My election is an iMac, but I'm not very sure of which one.
    Now I'm working with a windows computer and I use the computer to the normal use (internet, mail, some documents and spreadsheets, watch some movies, etc) and for one of my hobbies, the photography. I have a Reflex Camera and I process my RAW pictures with lightroom and photoshop.
    My first election was the basic iMac, the 20 inch with 2GB and I was thinking to expand the memory in the future, but now I have some doubts.
    The screen size is not very important for me, indeed I prefer the 20 ones because I have a small flat and the 24 is a bit big to my table... :-( but I have the doubt with the graphic card. I was listening that the 9400M is not a very good card. My first thought was that to my use (photograph edit) the card is not very important (more important is the RAM size) but with the new OS SL which use the GPU to make some mathematical operations the things could be different.
    I'm not sure if for my non professional use the big difference of money is justified or not between the 3 iMac (20 with 9400M, 24 with 9400M and 24 with G120).
    Can you help me? Someone who uses the iMac to this things could advise me.
    Thank you!

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Photoshopping doesn't need good GPU, it more RAM and CPU related. Just get the base 20" or 24" and add RAM later on

3. liamwillib macrumors member

I agree with the above to the point that the GPU will not make a difference to you at the moment. Although from your post I think you already know that.