my first iphone jailbreak. halfway through. assist.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by applefool, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. applefool macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #1
    2.2 firmware on my 3G. using the pwnage tool to keep baseband unaltered. stuck on restore step:

    when i create my custom firmware i see it sitting on my desktop. i was told to hold shift when clicking restore and to then click on the custom firmware on the desktop. i did this even though the default apple restore button popped up and nothing seemed to happen.

    the custom firmware looked like it opened through the iphone but other than that i saw no signs of response. am i just supposed to wait for 10 min after that with no signs of activity?

    somebody whos done this pls describe what im supposed to see. thanks.
     
  2. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    im confused whats your saying have you clicked restore while holding (option/shift) and selected the custom firmware
     
  3. applefool thread starter macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #3
    your suppposed to hold option and shift at the same time?
     
  4. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    sorry didnt realise ur on a mac.... no just option.


    i meant option on Mac and Shift on PC
     
  5. applefool thread starter macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #5
    im on a mac ive been doing shift. trying option this time.
     
  6. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  7. applefool thread starter macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #7
    bout to try. real quick though. i read in an old walkthrough that said you had to let the latest iphone firmware download into itunes before you ran pwnage... true?false????
     
  8. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    false, i believe.


    you running 10.5.6....

    have you sorted the DFU problems? is your phone in DFU mode?
     
  9. applefool thread starter macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #9
    na

    running 10.4. bout to be back in dfu mode and try with option.
     
  10. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  11. applefool thread starter macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #11
    word

    well i just jailbroke it. your advice was all i was missing.

    just really sucks though cause its saying that my iphones old settings cant be synced bc their outofdate...

    this happen to you?
     

Share This Page