Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

09vdubgti

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 18, 2009
Well i start college next week and my school recommends Mac so im going that way. Ok so i went to best buy the other day and looked at their line up and liked the 15"mbp i like a bigger screen so 15 is fit for my likings. Ok so i was looking at the 2.53GHz which is going for $1,599.00 and the 2.66GHz which is going for 1,849.00. Now is the processor speed noticeable?worth the extra money? and how much better is the graphics card NVIDIA GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT with 256MB over the standard one? My main use for the laptop is mainly going to be for school ( presentations, essays etc) aswell as my traktor pro and logic. Im also a novice photographer as i like to call my self. Also i run midi keyboard and controllers when i want to get creative with my music i dontt know if that matters or not. So my question is, is the 250 worth it? im not a technical guy but it seems to me that i am getting a good value for just an extra 250. SO do you guys have any tips for a noob like me when i go buy it? anything i should be aware of or concernd about? I hear that a new os is coming out friday, will that already come standard in the computer or will it be an extra?

thanks, i apprececiate anyone that took time to read and respond to my thread!!!!:)

benmrii

macrumors 65816
Nov 14, 2007
FL
Welcome to Macs and to MacRumors.

The upgrades you will get are, in my opinion, definitely worth the $150. You won't notice the difference in processor speed, but for the video upgrade alone it is worth the price (assuming you aren't breaking the bank in doing it).

Snow Leopard, the new OS, will be released this Friday, August 28. All computers purchased after June 8 (that means you) will be eligible to purchase it at $10 through the Up-to-Date Program. (source)

09vdubgti

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 18, 2009