My first Powermac G5 2.5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by conkrot, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. conkrot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Idaho
    #1
    I bought a Power Mac dual 2.5 on craigslist for $125. I was hoping it was a Quad but it turned out to be dual processor. I loaded leopard and it seems to run fine. I checked for coolant leaks and everything looked good. The plastic pin was still in the processor cover, so I assume it had never been apart.

    I believe this is my box
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g5/stats/powermac_g5_2.5_dp.html

    I was happy with a geekbench 2 score was a 2340. It's technically slower than my 1.83 core duo mini geekbench 2 2827, but it seems much faster.

    I added a wireless card, bluetooth usb stick, and a 4 USB card from my old G4 Sawtooth. The wireless works fine and the extra USB slots are handy when moving data to this machine.

    I still need to get a ADC adapter. It did come with a 16mb pci vga video card that worked, but it screwed up IMovie, so I will pull it out.

    I am really happy with this mac, it will be really useful.

    Power Mac G5
    Dual 2.5GHz G5
    2GB RAM
    2TB 7,200 rpm 32 cache hard disk
    SuperDrive
    ATI Radeon 9600 XT with 128MB
    Mac OS X 10.5.8
     
  2. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
  3. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #3
    Upgrade your graphics card to a QE/CI capable AGP and you will be more than happy.
     
  4. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    ^^^IMO OP has one yet ;) I presume he used this PCI card for second display.

    OP: Upgrade RAM to 4GB. 2GB should be considered as minimum for 10.5 to run reasonably.
     
  5. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #5
    Max that box up to 8GB, if i were you...

    Congratulations on your powermac.
     
  6. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    The 9600 is QE-CI capable, I have one.

    Not a bad machine, I'd stick 4GB of memory in it though (wouldn't bother with more unless you actually need it, I have 3GB and it's more than enough for general use.)

    And if you wanted to play older games like Quake 4/Doom 3, it'd be worth a GPU upgrade to a Geforce 6800 GT or something along those lines. I haven't bothered to do that for my G5 yet since the 1.8GHz processors are a bit too much of a bottleneck for games unfortunately.
     
  7. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #7
    Yes the 9600 is CI capable. The 9550 and above are actually. For Geforce cards you need a 5200+.
     
  8. lgwells1 macrumors regular

    lgwells1

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    COMO
  9. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #9
    Damn. These days the hard drive alone is worth $125. You got a good deal.
     
  10. conkrot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Idaho
    #10
    I had the 2TB drive on hand, I bought it last winter on newegg for $70, I looked it up and they go for $189 now.

    for $125 I got a 250 MB drive in the system.

    I might be able to buy another parts G5 with 8 GB of ram, cheaper than buying ram only on ebay, if my luck holds.
     

Share This Page