My friend has this old powermac....

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by CanadianDonkey, Apr 8, 2008.

  1. CanadianDonkey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #1
    Hi, my friend has this old power mac that he might want to give to me for use in my video editing. I don't know all the spec's of the computer, but I was wondering if it would be possible for me to clone my harddrive from my current macbook onto a hd on the powermac, so I can use all my current programs, specifically iLife? Or would I have to purchase another copy of ilife so I can use it?
     
  2. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

    mrwizardno2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #2
    Intel binaries aren't compatible with PowerPC :-(

    I don't know if you've installed the Universal versions, or if that would make a difference... but my first instinct is to say that it probably isn't going to work.
     
  3. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    Not to mention it'll be slow as *****. What PowerMac exactly?
     
  4. CanadianDonkey thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #4
    It's a G4 733 MHz PowerPC... so I'll probably won't be able to do what I was planning.

    Oh well...
     
  5. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #5
    Yeah, Your better off with your macbook.
     
  6. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    For video editing???? Heck I wouldn't even recommend that for Bolo.
    Ok, maybe for Bolo.
     
  7. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #7
    Universal versions will support full ppc and intel.
     
  8. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #8
    Yes but the user is cloning a PPC based system.
     
  9. Lord Zedd macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
  10. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  11. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #11
    Are you referring to Hard drive format? Where did you hear that? The HDD format is completely independent of the Processor type. HFS+ Journaled is still the format by default for OS X.
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    Leopard is Universal but I've found it painfully slow on the slower G4 machines. It's not pleasant with a load of 5 or 6.
     
  13. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

    mrwizardno2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #13
    It's the type of partition that makes the difference. Intel uses a GPT disk, by default. You "can" run it on another partition type, but you have to do strange things to accomplish it
     

Share This Page