My hardrive has failed

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ARfuss, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. ARfuss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #1
    MY harddrive ihas failed. at the start up thers a folder blinking where the apple logo. and the drive dosent appear in disk utilitys. But is there anything i should try before going to apple? I have a Intel Imac aleminum is it poossible that i can replace my hardrive myself? im just wondering what i need of equipment is needed to replace it i bought it about 2 years ago. Would really like to do it myself since i need it very bad! And it akes about 2 weeks to replace it at apples and pretty expensive. Not sure if it goes on the warrent i dont have apple protection plan.
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
  3. ARfuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #3
    I bought it in a Norwegian Apple Premium Seller


    I dont have the leopard install ced anymore can i just install with my snow leopard cd?
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    You can use the Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard Upgrade DVD, as it is a RETAIL version of Mac OS X and does not need any prior OS to be installed on the Mac to work properly.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    If I've heard correctly, all electronics have 5-year warranty in Norway, is that correct or was someone exaggerating? Maybe you should check that

    Yes, you can install Snow Leopard as long as it's Intel Mac
     
  6. ARfuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #6

    i think it is xD

    But it takes 2 weeks for them to replace it!
     
  7. ARfuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #7
    is it possible that the hardrive is still working? just need to cool down? it dident make any noises or anything i ripped a couple dvds last night tho it might be why it failed?
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    Hard drives just fail, there is no specific reason why. It can happen while you're reading your email or browsing the net. Because it doesn't even mount, it sounds like it's busted. You can try again later or with another computer but I would say it's gone.
     
  9. ARfuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #9
    Damn =/ The apple store dosent have HDD damn it! they have to order it ?=( Gonna take some time to get it here to replace it. But itsn othing important on it tho
     
  10. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #10
    You can use any 3.5" S-ATA HDDs with the iMac.
     
  11. ARfuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #11
    are you sure?
     
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    Yes. Any 3.5" SATA (Serial-ATA) will work.
     
  13. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #13
  14. ARfuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #14
    like this one?

    Intern harddisk på 500GB .
    3,5" intern SATA harddisk på 500GB Seagate reading speed 7200 rpm when reading. 16 MB caching.

    599,-

    Kjøp

    So i dont need to buy it at the apple premium seller? like at the Apple Store?
     
  15. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #15
    Yes, you don't need to buy from Apple. You can buy a 3.5" S-ATA HDD anywhere they are offered and you get an official receipt for warranty purposes.
     
  16. ARfuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #16
    its 3.5
    Generelle spesifikasjoner
    Kapasitet (GB) 1 000
    Tilkoblinger S-ATA
    Harddiskhastighet (RPM) 7 200
    Cache (MB) 32,00
    Produktbeskrivelse
    Type lagring Intern


    Can i use that one?
     
  17. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #17
    Yes, it should work.
     
  18. ARfuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #18
    Can my imac not handle big harddrives?

    dose 3.5 work on the 2008 imacs aswell? the aleminium imacs?
     
  19. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #19
    All aluminum iMacs use 3.5" SATA drives. Currently the biggest 3.5" SATA drive is 2TB but 3TB should be out soon. And yes, 2TB works in your iMac.
     
  20. ARfuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #20
    Sweet! Thank you m8 Also can i repolace my graphics card for a upgrade? or dosent that work? really want som bether graphic
     
  21. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #21
    In theory, yes but in real world, no. Replacement GPUs are not sold separately and even if found one, there is no guarantee that it would work. You would be better off by selling your current and buying a new one than replacing the GPU
     
  22. ARfuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #22
    thats kinda stupid its 2 years old how much coulød get it for it?
     
  23. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #23
    What are its specs?
     
  24. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #25
    It will work. However, it's 5400rpm drive so if I was you, I would get a faster HD since it's the boot drive. For example WD Caviar Blue or Black or if you want 2TB, then Hitachi's 7200rpm 2TB drive (same as in current iMacs).
     

Share This Page