My HD Capacity goes down with every move!!!?!?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by l7alzk, Dec 28, 2008.

1. l7alzk macrumors newbie

Ok so my question is this one, I have a Mac Book Pro 2.4 Ghz and 160 GB HD. I'ved been trying to clean my Mac erasing stuff i dont need and just placing everything on my external HD to keep my space up in my mac. So the thing is I have noticed that i keep erasing stuff but space keeps going down, then I noticed that everytime I opened something or did anything on the mac the space on HD goes down with every move. Even when I open documents or just pop open Garageband or Itunes, with every move the space goes down.

I am sorry but I am a bit new at this ived had this Mac for about 4 months now and i am still learning...

Is there any way I can get that space back? I thought it was the "cache" but I honestly don't know.

Please can any one be so kind to explain why this happends and how can I get my HD space back!!!
    \
    Thanks in advance!!! ^_^ !!:apple::D

2. l7alzk thread starter macrumors newbie

Update...

I suspect this problem might be caused by the timemachine program....

When I connect my External HD to the Mac it starts to suck space from the internal HD.... How the hell can I fix this!!!

Please anyone help me out i am going crazy with this....

3. spooky2k macrumors 6502a

Right now, you need to give us more information on this problem so that we can help you out. I can't see why it would be time machine, but if it is, you can just change the directory that time machine backs up to using the system preferences panel. It is definitely not the machine though as, by default, time machine is essentially 'off' until you plug in an external HD (in this event, it would ask if you want to use the external HD for backing up).

So, things to do:
    1) Go to 'Time Machine' in system preferences (with your external HD plugged in) and check that the external HD is selected.