My iChat says I'm away, but I'm not (CHECK TO SEE IF YOU'RE AFFECTED)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mrat93, Jul 1, 2009.

  1. mrat93 macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #1
    So today my mother called me downstairs to help her with something on our new iMac. I set an away message on my Mac. When I go downstairs, I notice on her buddy list that there is the green circle next to my screen name and the message: "Away." I log on to another screen name in Windows to find that it also says I'm not away, but it displays the message: "Away." It appears that my friend is having the same problem too with his new MacBook Pro. Is anybody else having this problem?

    UPDATE: This is NOT fixed in iChat 5.0 in Snow Leopard.
     
  2. jamminph88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
  3. wayland1985 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #3
    Add me to the list...


    Jeez... Why do you have to show me the problem!?! I thought iChat was problem-free!!!
     
  4. wayland1985 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #4
    Any Ideas? It's really quite annoying now that I know about it!!! :rolleyes:
     
  5. loonie313 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #5
    same

    im having the same problem with other issues... i had to change my port to 430 just to get on ichat and now i lost all other functions such a video and what not... this is coming from a brand new macbook pro i just bought. i also tried adium and that wont let me sign on ethier anyone got ideas
     
  6. jhirakawa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    #6
    i also have the new 13inch MBP and having this issue... :[
     
  7. wayland1985 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #7
    Is there a way to bug report??? If anything, I'd like Apple to fix this with Snow Leopard, at least....
     
  8. mrat93 thread starter macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #8
    I already did it, but here you go...

    http://www.apple.com/feedback/ichat.html
     
  9. wayland1985 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #9
  10. mrat93 thread starter macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #10
    At first I thought I was the only Mac user with this problem. Now I've noticed ALL Mac users on my buddy list have this problem.
     
  11. mrat93 thread starter macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
  12. frickingphil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
  13. southerndoc macrumors 6502a

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
  14. frickingphil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    Nope, doesn't work.

    (was posted in the apple discussions thread as well, and it didn't work for them either)
     
  15. philitup23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #15
    Maybe it has to do with the fact that iphone pushes i-ms to your phone?
    Does everyone have an iPhone?
     

Share This Page