My iMac 27" i7 Review, Take One

Discussion in 'iMac' started by filmgirl, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. filmgirl macrumors regular

    filmgirl

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    The whole blog entry is really long, so just read the first part if you are interested in my i7 review -- I have unboxing photos and whatnot too. I'll get more exhaustive next week after I get my replacement i7 and I can start to really feel like I can use this baby to its fullest potential (the miniDisplayPort doesn't work on this unit so I have to wait for a new one).

    My iMac i7 Review
     
  2. chibamac macrumors 6502

    chibamac

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #2
    what was wrong with your imac?
     
  3. filmgirl thread starter macrumors regular

    filmgirl

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    The mini DisplayPort doesn't work correctly. The computer recognizes that another monitor is attached but it won't output the correct signal. Three different monitors, same results. Used the same monitors and adaptor cable with my Mac mini, no problems.
     
  4. ma2ha3 macrumors regular

    ma2ha3

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #4
    i thought the imac 27 mini displayport is an input not an output to another monitor. it is supposed to connect to macbook, so that macbook can share the beautiful 27 inch screen with imac.
    it is not for imac to connect to another monitor. Am i missing something.
    OK, i dun have a imac 27 yet, i am still waiting and thinking. Dun hit me hard if i am wrong.
     
  5. Uncle Pinny macrumors regular

    Uncle Pinny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Yes, it's an input and an output.
     
  6. stevenapryor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #6
    The specs on the Apple website say it's both and input and output.
     
  7. ma2ha3 macrumors regular

    ma2ha3

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #7
    oh really, apple is very high tech. do you think she has set the correct parameters to turn it to an output. also she said she used the monitor from mac mini, does mac mini have display port or they have dvi. most likely her second monitor is a dvi not a display port type.

    well. she got to give more info.
     
  8. Uncle Pinny macrumors regular

    Uncle Pinny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Yes - the parameters being a minidisplay port cable plugged into the port. Sounds broken. Simple as.
     
  9. ma2ha3 macrumors regular

    ma2ha3

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #9
    wow apple is so plug and play nowadays. My dvi can do no such thing. technology really move on, well in PC world, dvi is still king, while apple move on to displayport.
     
  10. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #10
    Are you sure it wasn't the mini Display port CABLE? Also assuming you are connecting to DVI you need to have the Mini Display Port to Dual Link DVI adapter for resolutions at 2560 x 1600. There are dodgy MDP to DLDVI cables about :rolleyes:
     
  11. NevadaJack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #11
    Nice Blog!

    My status is still "Not Yet Shipped" so I sit here on my 13" Macbook. We will both be on Flight 84 (or some number) soon I hope...:confused:
     
  12. NevadaJack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12
    I think that Apple asked the necessary questions and came to the conclusion that something was not right with her 27" QC i7 iMac. That is why they agreed to replace the machine. :rolleyes:
     
  13. filmgirl thread starter macrumors regular

    filmgirl

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    Heh, yeah, trust me -- I'm positive it wasn't the cable. I tested it with three different monitors, used the cable successfully with all three with the Mac mini (which has mini-DisplayPort -- I used a miniDisplay to HDMI cable). The Mac recognizes that it is attached to another display -- but the signal is completely wrecked. It says it's at the wrong parameters even when those parameters are exact. I even used two different monitor utilities to see if I just had to adjust the settings or something -- the details were all correct. The port is just bad.

    I was a computer technician in college, so I'm pretty adept at troubleshooting. Trust me, I wish it wasn't a bad port -- but it is.
     

Share This Page