My iMac Freezer is fixed....or is it?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by neoben, Nov 7, 2007.

  1. neoben macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #1
    Howdy...

    So, I'm writing this from a Apple Store computer (ironically enough, an iMac)...

    I am one of those who had the freezer issue after my 14day exchange period....

    It's been over a week, and I've spent over 3 hours on the phone with Apple, 4 trips to the Apple store. Finally, last thursday, the store acknowledged that this wasn't a software bug and agreed to replace my video card and logic board. They said it would take 1-3 days...

    So, 3 days later, I tried to call. After being on hold twice for 1/2 hour, I gave up. I tried to use the website to get my status. No dice, it couldn't find my repair number.

    Finally, I came back to the store today. The LEAD genius told me that Apple has just released 1.3 and I should download that. I basically blew up because they've had my iMac for 8 days and the part should have been ordered and installed by now. PLUS: They didn't call me to tell me this and I couldn't reach them in a reasonable amount of time on the phone.

    I mean, would it have been here another week before they got around to calling me to come and get it and install 1.3, at which point I would have to have brought it back again? YIKES!

    So, after kicking and screaming a little (I was pissed. It's been 8 days!), the lead finally agreed to what I had asked for in the first place, and is currently doing the paper work do give me a fresh, new iMac. Other than his demeanor that suggests he's doing me a great favor, I guess I'm finally getting what I wanted.

    Will it freeze when I get it home? I hope not, but we'll see...

    The moral of the story is 2 fold:

    1) Kicking and screaming are what you have to resort to sometimes
    2) As a company grows, it's service gets worse. I used to be able to get Appl e on the phone in under 30mins. Now it's crazy!

    Anyone else gotten replaced outside of the 14-day window?

    -Ben
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Yes. Waited patiently for an hour before I got through to AppleCare. Walked me through the usual paces and then said "send in for new logic board/video card". Bringing it to my auth. repair centre tomorrow. Pick it up when I return from Maui. Hopefully, like myself, it no longer will be frozen.

    I agree with both your points.
     
  3. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #3
    Please let us know (even if you send me a PM) but make sure you check good. Just starting it up and saying "yep it's fixed" isn't enough. Start, try the usual freeze spots (iTunes, PhotoBooth, Time Machine) then restart and try again.

    My iMac hasn't frozen for a few days now but I'm not calling it fixed since it hasn't been replaced nor updated to 1.3. After the last freeze and zapping the PRAM yet AGAIN a few times it hasn't frozen and I'm just being grateful now it's not. BUT if taking it in (I hate to have someone in my machine unless it's necessary) will absolutely resolve the issue then I will. Otherwise I'll have patience for a fix.

    I say give it a good 2 days with more than at least 3 reboots.
     
  4. Bolteh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #4

    Thoze "freeze spots" aren't reliable at all.. I have a freezer, I know I have a freezer and I know it still freezes.. However, iTunes Visualiser/Cover Flow, PhotoBooth, iPhoto, games, Arabesue, dock-spamming.. Non of those are a 100%-fool-proof method to make it freeze.. It just freezes randomly
     
  5. atthecross macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #5
    test it in the store!!! that's what I did.

    I ended up behind the genius bar and installed leopard in store and used their lan line to install my updates.

    then i stress test it while there.

    I was there for about 3 hrs but it was worth it to me to make sure i had a working unit and did not have to drag my iMac back!!
     
  6. neoben thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #6
    So, I got the iMac home, fired it up, copied my backed-up Leopard install from my old iMac.

    An hour later I was back in business. Tried my normal freeze-activator (itunes visualizer+arabesque screensaver+scrolling through magnified dock), and it froze right away.

    Rebooted. Tried again. It froze again.

    Rebooted. Updated to 1.3. Froze again

    ...and again...

    OK. Wipe the drive. Clean install of leopard from DVD. Copy over apps (not migrate, but reinstall). Copy music et al.

    Now, I can't get it to freeze. Tried for 10 mins. I'm basically back to where I was before, but no freezing with Leopard and 1.3. All my apps are back in place.

    Chew on that one...

    -Ben
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    neo-fight.tv - {The Weekly Technology Podcast}
     
  7. docjhr3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #11
    I had my computer replaced close to 30 days later, they replaced it with another dud.:(
     
  8. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
  9. ascender macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #13
    Unfortunately with the freezing issue there's no way to tell, 100% if you have one. None of the usual tests froze mine and it went for 3 weeks without a single freeze.

    I'm afraid until Apple actually let us know what the problem is and how they're going to fix it, a lot of us will just be waiting for the next freeze to happen.
     
  10. docjhr3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #14
    Wicked sorry about the multiple posts I don't know why that happened :confused:
    Anyway to delete them on here?
     

Share This Page