My iMac is suddenly running slow!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ImacUser212, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. ImacUser212, Mar 23, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    First thing to check is if the HD is OK, open Disk Utilities and verify disk, if there are any errors you need to repair the HD but you need to startup from another bootable System.
    If you have the Installer Disk you can repair from that one by inserting the DVD and boot from it, then choose Disk Utilities and repair the Disk, while you are at it repair permissions again.
    You can also try to reset the SMC and PRAM.

    Also a good idea is to create a new User Account, login into that account and see if the problems occur there as well.
    As for the Apps with a question mark, were they useable before, if so something strange happened.
     
  3. ImacUser212, Mar 23, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013

    ImacUser212 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
  4. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    Unlikely. Can you post a Screenshot of activity monitor with all processes displayed? You may have something in your startup folder thats hogging resources.
     
  5. ImacUser212, Mar 24, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013

    ImacUser212 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
  6. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #6
  7. justperry, Mar 24, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #7
    MDS an MDWorker are your problems from what I see, Open Spotlight preferences, then on the Privacy Tab, add your HD to it, either by the + sign or drag it there, close it, restart and then do the same but remove the HD from Privacy.
    This will force the Spotlight index to reindex, let it finish and see if that solves the problem.

    Edit: If you post a screenshot of the processes better click on the CPU Tab, it will show all the top users at the top, also, you can post a screenshot of the window only by pressing Command-Shift-4 and then hit the spaceBar and click the window.

    I also recommend to run Apple Hardware Test.

    If the above does not work post part of your System.Log after the boot time so I and others can see where it hangs.
     
  8. ImacUser212, Mar 24, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013

    ImacUser212 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
  9. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #9
    Nothing to see now!
     
  10. ImacUser212, Mar 24, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013

    ImacUser212 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
  11. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #11
    Post the System Log, only the part after reboot.
    Also post a screenshot of your memory in Activity Monitor.
    And run Apple Hardware test by holding D at startup.
     
  12. ImacUser212, Mar 24, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013

    ImacUser212 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
  13. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #13
    Read my last post, the one before your post, just do so and report your findings here.
     
  14. ImacUser212, Mar 24, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013

    ImacUser212 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
  15. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #15
    Sorry, I had a power outage.

    First, remove your last System log picture from you last post, your email is inside.
    Next, run Apple Hardware test by holding the D key on startup and look if you have any HW problems.

    I need the System entries from Boot to login screen, those are not in the screenshot.
    You can find the file in /private/var/log, to go there click on Go>Go To Folder and enter /private/var/log, you will find the system log there, you can open it with TextEdit and copy the entries after the last boot until the login screen, paste this into a new post here or you can email it to me, my email address is in my profile.

    You Memory seems to be OK, you can also go to Activity Monitor and see if there are any runaway processes, to see the processes which use the most resources click on the CPU Tab, might have to click twice to see them on Top.
     
  16. ImacUser212, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013

    ImacUser212 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
  17. justperry, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #17
    Oh, forgot, your Apple Hardware Test is on the Snow Leopard disk, forgot you have SL.
    You can read more on AHT here:

    Intel-based Macs: Using Apple Hardware Test

    There must be text inside, I will attach a screenshot here so you can see which file you should look for.

    Edit: Otherwise just email me the file, don't worry, there are no passwords inside the file and I already warned you about removing your email Address, I will secure delete it afterwards.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. ImacUser212, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013

    ImacUser212 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
  19. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #19
    Sorry, that's what I recommend, if you can' get it to work I can't do much more without that file or without you running Apple Hardware Test.

    Sadly my internet connection isn't that fast otherwise I could help you out with TeamViewer/Screensharing software.
     
  20. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #20
    Are you sure this is an imac? because in these pictures the image is very sharp think like a retina
     

Share This Page