My iMac [might have] a virus.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mloffa, Oct 14, 2009.

  1. mloffa macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I am typing this from my iPod Touch right now because I am trying to re-install leopard on my computer in the hopes it will help. So far it's not working. When it asks me where to install, it keep loading and never comes up with a place to install. I know what a virus looks like on a computer and mine has it. Programs don't open, overall sluggish performance, etc.

    Any advice?
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    You don't have a virus. Try repairing permissions in Disk Utility or create a new user account and see whether the problems occur there.
     
  3. iGuardian macrumors 6502a

    iGuardian

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #3
    I somehow doubt it's a virus from what you've described. If it can't come up with a HD to install on, open disk utility and take a look-see as to whats happening in your harddrive. If your HD shows up in disk utility, format it into Mac OS Journaled and try again.

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. mloffa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Are you guys sure? I'm almost positive it's a virus.

    What exactly should I do in Disk Utility?
     
  5. pvmacguy macrumors 65816

    pvmacguy

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    Jax
    #5
    Reformat the partition in disk utility and then start the install again.
     
  6. mloffa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    How do I do this?
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    First, there is no virus for osx.
    Second, is it under warranty?
     
  8. js81 macrumors 65816

    js81

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    KY
    #8
    Not a virus. Repair permissions, zap PRAM, etc... if all else fails, reinstall (though it sounds like you're there already)...
     
  9. mloffa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    Honestly, that would be funny if I weren't so angry at my computer right now.


    You guys are telling me all this stuff but I don't know how to do this. I am in disk utility and it's not allowing me to do any of this.

    I can't install my OS again because it won't let me chose were to install it.

    Some problems:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Lancetx macrumors 68000

    Lancetx

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    Follow the instructions showing on your screen in that dialog box. Starting up your computer with your OS X installation disc will allow you to run Disk Utility and repair the disk. It's definitely not a virus, your HDD is simply corrupt and it needs to be repaired.
     
  11. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #12
    To provide further explanation, shut your computer down and hold the alt key, choose the disk, rather then the hard drive to boot from and then run Disk Utility.
     
  12. Sorkvild macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #13
    Putting you have a virus especially in the thread title is really misleading to people... Imagine everybody who read it and thought What! Everyone says macs dont get viruses, but look!

    There for real are no mac viruses... yet at least!
     
  13. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #14
    Um thats definitely not a virus.

    As others says, try repairing disk permissions and looking at system monitor to see what processes are running.

    Now for viruses, if you have a viruses chances are you will never know. All the stuff you see in movies is completely fake. If it is a well written malware it doesn't want to be found and you will see no evidence of it being on the system (unless its a phishing type malware or browser redirect).
     
  14. mloffa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #15
    Nothing is working. I can't repair my disk or whatever because it's not being found. I will post a pic once my computer is turned back on (which is taking over 10 minutes). Once again I am on my iPod touch. I don't know what to do. I need specific intructions.



    -edit-
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    See, there is no Macintosh HD.
     
  15. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #16
    Dude, you don't have a virus, just maybe something wrong with your disk.

    Looks like you might also have a corrupted Leopard Disk
     
  16. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #17
    Boot in single user mode, and run fsck...

    Likely you will find that there is something seriously wrong with the file system/catalog ... which means, it'll likely require a 3rd party repair utility if you want to save the data.

    Note: You have to run disk utility off the DVD, since disk utility will not "repair" a drive with open files on it, and has to be able to unmount the drive (and since the OS is running off the drive, it has open files and is hard for disk utility to unmount). Hence, fsck and single user mode.
     
  17. mloffa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #18
    How do I do this? And I really don't care about my data. There isn't much of it and it can be lost... I just want to be able to USE my computer.

    And how does something like this even happen?! I am generally pretty smart about my computer and don't delete random things and whatnot.
     
  18. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #19
    People who shut the computer down with the power button, who have a lot of kernel panics, or need to force quit apps a lot.

    All these can lead to small errors that build up over time until the file system get fragged.

    ---

    Or the drive is failing, and will build up write errors leading to an unresponsive drive.

    ---

    If you have ever noticed the HELP Menu ...

    just follow the directions on the screen when you start up in Single user mode. Just keep running fsck until it tells you it cannot fix the errors, or tells you nothing was modified.

     
  19. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #20
    Erase your Hitachi and give the volume a name of Macintosh HD and then you will.
     
  20. mloffa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #21
    Well I have a MacintoshHD. I can see it along with Hitachi when I use disk utility without the installation disk.

    I currently trying to use fsck
     
  21. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #22
    So, you're saying when booted from the install disk, you can't see your Macintosh HD volume, but when you boot normally Disk Utility can see it? If so, whoa, freaky.
     
  22. mloffa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #23
    That's exactly what I'm saying! I have no idea what's going on.
     
  23. mloffa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #24
    Just tried fsck. It got to "Cannot repair MacintoshHD after 3 attempts" or something like that.

    I am still having problems.
     
  24. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #25
    Nope, it was definitely still funny. :p (no offense)
     

Share This Page