My iMac won't turn on!!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bluejay34, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. bluejay34 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    #1
    My iMac G5 flat panel, which has worked flawlessly since I have had it, won't turn on. :mad: The light on front just flashes. Am I looking at a new logic board or what? Any ideas??
     
  2. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    is their a beep coming from the computer itself?
     
  3. bluejay34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    #3
    no beep, no nothing, just a flash of the power light.
     
  4. Sutekidane macrumors 6502a

    Sutekidane

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    #4
    Check your memory modules. They might of gone bad.
     
  5. apachie2k macrumors 6502

    apachie2k

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    was NYC...now MIAMI
    #5
    yea have you messed with the innards? it sounds like its RAM issues
     
  6. bluejay34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    #6
    I took off the back, made sure the memory was plugged in good. It shows the computer it getting power when plugged in, but it won't turn on. So what exactly do I need to do??
     
  7. Raid macrumors 68020

    Raid

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    Hmm if it was anything like my G4 tower, when you press the power button it lights up but nothing else works. If that's the case my fix was to press the PMU reset button on the motherboard. But I wouldn't know where to look for it on an iMac. :eek:
     
  8. bluejay34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    #8
    I thought about that but there are two little gray buttons right beside each other, not for sure which if either is the PMU reset button. How long should I press it if one of them is the reset? I think I pushed them each, but didn't hold them down.
     
  9. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #9
    Can you tell us which model it is?

    If it's a 2.0GHz 20" iMac G5 (Revision B) you might be covered under the power supply repair program - check here for details.

    If you have an older 1.6GHz or 1.8GHz iMac G5 (Revision A) you might be covered under the video and power supply repair program - check here for details.


    I had shutdown/power supply issues with my iMac G5 (rev B) and had the logic board and power supply replaced; chances are you might need the same thing. Before you take it back to Apple try resetting the SMU to see if it makes any difference.
     
  10. bluejay34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
  11. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #11
    Better check your serial number then!
     
  12. bluejay34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    #12
    Mine is one of those serial #'s, thanks for the information.:)
     

Share This Page