My imovie project is 134GB. Why please?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Aia, Feb 24, 2009.

  1. Aia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #1
    I have created an imovie project that is 10 minutes long and is 134GB - I am using up a whole external hardrive just to store it. Another project I have completed recently is also about 10 minutes long, and is 36GB.

    Is this normal? (Surely not?) :confused:

    Both projects (and especially the first one) consist of quite a lot of short clips...I can only suspect that each clip must somehow be retaining information from its entire source footage- could that be the problem, and if so how is that happening? And if not, what is happening? And how do I stop it from happening?

    I need to free up some space on my mac and I can't bin these projects or compress them because they are documentation for a theatre project that I have been working on for ages and I need them to be full quality... Please help!!!
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    that is quite a situation you have there... are you sure that you havent made multiple copies of the project or anything?
     
  3. Aia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #3
    You mean multiple copies within the same project file...is that possible?
     
  4. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    it could be, it seems very unlikely though..

    if you go to your project in the Finder, right click on it and go "Show Package Contents" it will show you your whole project. have a look around in there and see if you can see any doubles.

    in imovie can you go into a single clip and try find out how big it is? maybe its using some wierd high high definition quality???
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    HD isnt THAT amazing, 123gb for 10 minutes.. thats 13.4GB for each minute!!! noway.
     
  7. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #7
    Which version are you using? In iMovie 06 (and I assume later ones) there was a Trash feature which was where your changes went. This has to be emptied regularly...
     
  8. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #8
    HD + duplications as you said, could equal 123GB, seems more plausible than it being SD duplicates...
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    you didnt say anything about duplications so i just assumed that you were thinking about massively high definition quality stuff. sorry.
     
  10. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #10
    Sorry I meant it as in addition to your post too.
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    haha no thats ok, good team work (Y).
     
  12. Aia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #12
    Hi - Thanks. I think it is HD (I think....)
    I have looked at package contents (thanks, didn't know I could do that)- there are two files with the same name, but they are tiny. The media folder shows each clip and each individual clip (most of which are under 3 mins long, some of them are just seconds long) is at least a couple of GB... so thats the problem I guess. Anyone knw how that is happening?
     
  13. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #13
    Could be uncompressed HD + render files (does iMovie render, or is it real time effects?, haven't used it properly since iMovie 6), OP did you add any effects to your film?
     
  14. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    oh wow righto, it would be great if you could screen shot a few pictures of that folder and post them so we could help out a tad more. :apple: + Shift + 4 will let you take a screen shot, click and drag your mouse to create a box around the slected area. once you let go the picture will be taken. it default saves to your desktop

    oh and what version of iMovie is it??

    i dont know tbh, i only use iMovie 6, but AFAIK imovie6 doesnt add any other files at all..
     
  15. Aia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #15
    Hi - sorry to vanish - my internet conection collapsed... I just need to catch up here...
     
  16. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    haha righto get reading!
     
  17. Aia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #17
  18. Aia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
  19. petvas macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #19
  20. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #20
    hhmmm ok imovie 6, no rendering done there.. i would go with the suggestion from before, check the trash in imovie (down the bottom right hand corner)!!
     
  21. Aia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
  22. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #22
    ok damn, im all out of ideas haha sorry!

    oh wait, what quality did you select to make the movie in??
     
  23. Aia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #23
    uh...I feel a bit of a dunce, but I don't really know how to check that. I have it set to high quality for playback though.
     
  24. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #24
    up the top silly!!!

    (DV-PAL) is my setting
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Aia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #25
    Ah, right, that bit - I'm in DVD PAL as well.
     

Share This Page