My impressions on OSX and the pro/air

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Closingracer, Jan 4, 2016.

1. Closingracer macrumors 68000

The first and only time I have touched a mac of any sort was back when I was in third grade where my teacher had set up macs in the class. It was the ones that had a colorful computer screen with multiple color choices to buy. This was in the late 1990's. Fast forward to today I've checked some Macbook Airs and pros at bestbuy and wow the OS is pretty easy to use. I tried out a 15 inch windows laptop and hated the keyboard because it was to small and figured it was because of the screen size but wow ive tried both the 13 inch pro / air and the 15 inch and the keyboards are great. I am still in the fence if I want to jump over but if I do I got a few questions. First off which is better the Macbook Pro 13 inch non retina screen or the 13 inch Air? Second question which might sound dumb but I have never used a mac before but you can easily use external storage like a hdd with Macbooks? Do you to do anything special or can you just plug one in and use it?

2. mshepp macrumors member

Adding storage is as simple as plug and play and you'll be able to access it through finder and there will be prompts when you plug a device in.

If it's in your budget I would suggest going for a retina pro. The Retina display makes for a much more enjoyable experience. I know that's not answering your specific question but hope it helps!

3. T5BRICK macrumors 604

T5BRICK

The current MacBook Air is better than the 13" non retina MacBook Pro.

I'd suggest looking into the retina models though. The screens are just amazing.

You can use any external storage you like. If it's formatted NTFS from the manufacturer, you'll need to reformat it before you can use it, otherwise it will work fine out of the box.

4. Richdmoore macrumors 65816

Richdmoore