My internet is super slow... what can I do???

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by popwars, Mar 21, 2009.

  1. popwars macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #1
    When I connect to the net on my macbook pro it is super slow loading pages. While on my desktop it works just fine. Everything is wireless in my house, running off an airport base station. Is there anything I can do to speed up my laptop?
     
  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    1. Power cycle modem/AirPort Base Station (unplug both for at least 2 min)
    2. Empty caches, reset safari (if you're using FireFox, delete history, caches)
    3. Delete the Caches folder in ~/Library
    4. Restart MacBook Pro
     
  3. popwars thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #3
    Thanks I'll give that a try. I hope it helps.
     
  4. Patriks7 macrumors 65816

    Patriks7

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #5
    1. Stop running torrents
    2. Stop loading all that porn
    Works for me :cool:


    Nah, just kidding (not really though). Try what that guy suggested above, and if that doesn't help, try connecting your MBP directly to the modem.
     
  5. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #6
    I find that doesn't really tell you anything. More times than none, it will post how fast your connection is suppose to be. I usually don't use other PC's to troubleshoot but in this case it helps us, nothing wrong with his connection, it's something on his computer that's causing the slowdown.
     
  6. Jurwin macrumors regular

    Jurwin

    #7
    He's probably seeding a couple of porn torrents without knowing it. :D
     
  7. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #8
    If it's possible, connect your Mac via a cat5 cable. It'll help ascertain if it's the internet connection itself, your computer or your wireless.
     
  8. slookx24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #9
  9. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #10
    I am wondeing if this is a comcast thing, or a leopard thing but, MY DNS is always got numbers in it now. It never used to since 10.5.2. I find I dont need the 4.x.x.x settings anymore.

    I am connceted wifi, and get ...
     

    Attached Files:

  10. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #11
    Probably a long shot since I've only had about 2 or 3 customers with this problem. Go to http://www.dnschanger.com/ and download the small removal tool and see if it finds anything.
     

Share This Page