My iPad took a picture?!

Discussion in 'iPad' started by stewart715, Jul 22, 2010.

1. stewart715 macrumors 6502

Before you read this, know that I am a software developer for both Mac and Windows and am well capable of recognizing bugs.

My iPad didn't literally take a picture BUT I locked my iPad and it became unresponsive. Then it finally came on after a few seconds and the screen flashed white very quickly and made a camera shutter sound (just like any Mac does in photo booth). What the heck?!

Could this possibly be a trace of front facing camera featured in previous testing models of the iPad and i perhaps triggered some sort of short cut to take a photo?

2. CapedJackass macrumors newbie

When it froze, you probably hit the sleep and home buttons at different times, but since it was frozen it registered both at once, thus taking a screen shot.

3. Yoda3984 macrumors member

Yoda3984

I don't have an iPad, but if it's like the iPhone it will take a screenshot if the sleep button and home button are pressed at the same time.

4. topmounter macrumors 68020

topmounter

Sounds like it was just the unlock sound stuttering... or yeah, the screen shot :)

5. stewart715 thread starter macrumors 6502

That's what i thought too, but i wasn't touching the lock button and there is no trace of a saved screenshot in my photos. But you are probably right th at it is related...

6. DifferentialApp macrumors regular

7. whocaresit macrumors 6502a

8. aohus macrumors 68000

9. nixiemaiden macrumors 6502a

Haha awesome. I didn't know the iPad could do screenshots!

10. Don Kosak macrumors 6502a

Don Kosak

Yeah, it's an awesome feature. As a developer you can use it to report bugs, or do "step by step" screen shots for issue reporting, walk throughs, documentation or what ever.