My iPhone 4 might be bricked - please help!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ckesten, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. ckesten macrumors regular

    ckesten

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Hello

    I searched the web and this forum nothing is working.

    My phone was jailbroken by limera!n and I went to restore it back by going to settings and erasing all settngs. I guess that was the mistake.

    Now my phone won't go past the apple logo on start up. I can still turn it off by holding sleep and home but when I start it again it won't go past the apple logo. Sometimes the circle appears that shows its trying load but it won't.

    I tried holding down sleep and hold for ten seconds then releasing sleep but it doesn't work. If I connect to macbook with the usb cable nothing happens.

    Any ideas??

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Jbrick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    #2
  3. ulbador macrumors 68000

    ulbador

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #3
    It's not bricked. You just aren't getting it into DFU mode. In DFU mode the screen will be completely black.
     
  4. ckesten thread starter macrumors regular

    ckesten

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    wow that must have been it. it worked now when i connected to to macbook. thanks a lot for the help guys.. and good luck
     
  5. desiprince1212 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #5
    [HOW-to] RE-Jailbreak

    Hey


    This may be a stupid question but how do I re-jailbreak. I have already Jailbroke (4.0.1) and unlocked using Ultrasn0w.

    I want to upgrade to 4.1 using GreenPois0n. But how I do properly re - jailbreak. Just hit restore and run the JB? That simple? Please let me know if there is a specific procedure.


    ANDDDD will I lose my unlock forever? Since obviously the baseband will change (should I use TinyUmbrella, Pwnage to JB?). Can I have until 4.2 and then just unlock to something easier like Ulrasn0w? Thanks!
     
  6. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #6

    If you have a mac, use pWnage, it'll allow you keep an unlockable baseband.

    If you just update via iTunes, you WILL lose your unlock at least until they release a new ultrasn0w, and who knows how long that will take.
     
  7. desiprince1212 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #7
    Didnt mean to threadjack could have sworn I started a new thread..my apologies again..


    but when you use pwnagetools does that jailbreak for me? yes sir/maam I have a mac, so I can use it.
     
  8. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #8
    yes it jb it...
     

Share This Page