My iPhone just borked out on me...what to do.

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by levitynyc, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. levitynyc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #1
    My phone now displays

    "Repair Needed"

    Iphone cannot make or receive calls.
    www.apple.com/support.

    When I plug it into iTunes, I get a SIM error as it can't seem to recognize the phone.

    I plan on buying a new 3g model soon. I can go without a phone for a week. I plan on sending this one for repair once I get the new phone.

    Is there any downside to just sending this one for repair now or should I wait until I activate the new phone?

    Thanks
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Yeah, right... JUST now... Sure... :p

    That's not a coincidence at all...
     
  3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #3
    A man of many words. ;)


    Send it in for repair, they'll repair or replace.
     
  4. newyorksole macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    New York.
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Epic win, man.
     
  6. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
  7. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #8
    Bring it in for repair, you are probably still covered by AppleCare assuming you haven't hacked it or anything, that way if you are going to buy a 3G iPhone, you can sell your old one on ebay or something and have it be functional.
     
  8. levitynyc thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #9
    Lol, I know that. I was wondering if I should actually get it repaired now or if it will somehow get in the way of me buying a new iPhone when it (hopefully) comes out this week of next.

    I cant believe it busted on me this week of all weeks

    I bought it in October so I am definitely warranty covered.
     
  9. fanbrain macrumors 6502

    fanbrain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    So. UT
    #10
    Mine has been acting up lately. Can't think of a better time. Mine is refurbished. Freezes and won't respond to button presses sometimes.
     
  10. levitynyc thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #11
    The last 2 days it kept shutting off on me in standby mode and the only way to turn it on was to plug it into my computer.
     
  11. gullaa macrumors member

    gullaa

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #12
    don't send it in until september..this way here they will hopefully be out of the 1 g iphones and you will get a new 3g one
     
  12. levitynyc thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #13
    Is it simple to set up a new phone? For example if someone 4 months ago wanted to buy a 16 gb and upgrade from their 8gb, is anything other than itunes setup required? Does the SIM card need to be removed?

    I just dont want to not be able to upgrade my phone within the next 2 weeks because this one is busted
     
  13. levitynyc thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #14
    From what I can tell, I dont have to do any hardware work, I just want to make sure.
     
  14. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #15
    Or they could just repair his phone then ;)
     
  15. levitynyc thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
  16. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #17
    What happens when you slide it? And what happens when you plug it in? Screenshots/pictures would be nice.
     
  17. JPIndustrie macrumors 6502a

    JPIndustrie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    #18
    Damn that sucks, dude.

    Maybe it got a little jealous of your 3G iPhone rumor-searching and decided to conveniently damage it's SIM tray/reader... mmm..
     
  18. adamerr macrumors 6502a

    adamerr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #19
    nice ring.
    lol

    have you tried putting another SIM in just to see whether its the card itself and not the phone?
     
  19. levitynyc thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #20
    I dont have another sim to test it out on.

    Here is a screen capture when I plug it in

    [​IMG]
     
  20. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #21
    Have you attempted to eject the SIM card bay and then replace it after? It could be a simple issue like that.
     
  21. levitynyc thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #22
    No, I have not...whats an easy way to get it out.
     
  22. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #23
    Just pop the end of a paper clip into the top into the tiny hole on the SIM card tray, and it should pop out, all you have to do afterwards is push it back in. Just to be completely safe, turn your phone off before doing this, I would also try resetting the phone if you haven't done so already, just to be sure.
     
  23. benfilan macrumors 6502

    benfilan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
  24. levitynyc thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #25
    Yup, I just tried...still dead. Oh well I am buying a 3g Phone ASAP and I'll have this one repaired as a backup
     

Share This Page