My iPhone Just Crashed/Erased Itself! What?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by TheSpaz, Apr 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #1
    What the heck!?!?!

    Okay, so I was just sitting here working when all of a sudden my iPhone blinked on with a white screen. Then it sat there for a few seconds on white and then it shut off.

    When it came back on again I saw an Apple logo with a progress bar. I thought... okay, my iPhone crashed and now it's starting back up.

    However, when it finished starting back up, I have the connect to iTunes and Emergency Call screen!!!

    This SUCKS because I am expecting a call sometime today and I really need my phone to be working.

    This just happened a few minutes ago. As some of you know, I was running 2.2.1.

    Edit: iTunes won't respond when I plug my iPhone in.
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    Kind of a bad title. Your iPhone didn't erase itself. Try getting it into DFU mode.


    BTW, are you jailbroke?
     
  3. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #3
    I am not jailbroken.

    I just plugged it into iTunes and iTunes just freezes with a spinning beach ball (I'm on Tiger on a PowerMac G5).

    I'm gonna try DFU. This has never happened before. It's making me nervous.
     
  4. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    It might be a bug from 2.2.1 or from upgrading to a 3.x version and then downgrading again. That's why the rest of the world runs on a 3.1.x version. Put it into DFU mode and restore in iTunes and you will be fine.
     
  5. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #5
    Okay, I pulled out the SIM card and it immediately went to my home screen. All of my apps are there and music and stuff.

    WHAT!

    As soon as I put my SIM card back in, it locks me back out. I'm using a go-phone SIM from AT&T and it has always worked.
     
  6. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    Are you doing an April Fools joke on us?
     
  7. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7
    The problem absolutely positively CANNOT be the SIM card then. Hmm...I'll pick my brain for the next few hours and see if I can come up with what the problem could be.
     
  8. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #8
    Yes. :D

    Don't waste your time. :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page