my iPhone SIM card says "3G" ...?????

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by California, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #1
    Yeah. You read that right. What does this mean? I was having trouble activating because I've been with ATT so long that my plan was off the charts... ATT dude asked me to pop my sim card and it read 3G on it.

    What does that mean?

    Bought it refurbed a week ago. 8gb.
     
  2. brn2prgrm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    #2
    Umm yeah, about that.... It means absolutely nothing about the capabilities of the iPhone and has been discussed before. Nothing new, everyone has this same kind of card and pretty much every AT&T phone uses it also, even though they aren't 3G Data capable.

    The search feature would be your friend.....
     
  3. Bernie-Mac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
  4. California thread starter macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #4
    Actually, I was on the phone with ATT and they were also surprised it said
    3G.

    Forgive my ignorance and boredom with the vagaries of the US cell phone monopoly... !
     
  5. stevelaw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #5
    SIM works on 3G

    I plugged my iPhone sim into my old Cingular 8525 and it promptly connected to the ATT 3g network, so the SIM has 3G capabilities, just not the phone
     
  6. JeffTL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    #6
    The SIM in my Motorola Razr, which if I recall correctly actually came with a Nokia 3120 back in '04, says 3G on it, for what it's worth.
     

Share This Page