My iPod Doesn't Know What Version It Is

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by firelord901, May 28, 2008.

  1. firelord901 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #1
    Hi -
    So when I go into General<About on my iPod under Version it says "N/A" instead of 1.1.4. Then if I want to download a program off of installer it says you need firmware 1.1.3/1.1.4, and I can't get the download. Any ideas how to fix it? The installed programs are: Summerboard, Tetromino, Mines, Copter, Apollo, Twinkle, and KLores.
     
  2. brandonzar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #2
    Did you upgrade to 1.1.3 or 1.1.4 before you did the jailbreak? Also what app did you use to do the jailbreak?
     
  3. firelord901 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #3
    It was already 1.1.4 when I jailbroke with ziphone.
     
  4. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #4
    the version number is stored in a file on the touch, from the root of the touch (via ssh/ftp) go to system\Library\CoreService\SystemVersion.plist in this file you can change the version number, look for the following in the file:

    Code:
    	<string>OS X</string>
    	<key>ProductVersion</key>
    	<string>1.1.4</string>
    well it should say 1.1.4 but since your iPod says n/a it might say n/a where 1.1.4 is or the file is corrupt.
     
  5. firelord901 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #5
    Well looks like that's the problem. The file is missing. Thanks for the help. Can someone share the file or would I be better off restoring it?
     
  6. firelord901 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #7
    Thanks. Hopefully this works or else I'll just restore it.

    Update: It worked. Thanks for your help. Still curious to know how it got deleted since I never go in that folder.
     

Share This Page