MY IPod is stuck at apple logo and force update won't work!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by TechSavy0192, Sep 26, 2015.

  1. TechSavy0192 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    #1
    I jailbreaked my Ipod and worked fine for 2 weeks before i deleted some tweaks in cydia and then cydia crashed. One day when i was rebooting it. it was stuck on the apple screen. I did the recorvery trick but that didn't work (updating) i don't wawnt to restore factory settings. WHAT DO I DO!? ( it's updating but i don't have enough space 500mb left ; 1.71 GB download )
     
  2. LMC91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #2
    Hey, not sure if this will work or not for you, only done it on an iPod Touch 4G on iOS6, for me this method fixed a Recovery loop, but can also be used to backup any files and put them on your computer if everything goes well, or if that's even a thing you want to do. Not sure if you're on PC or Mac, I've only done this on a PC myself, but I'm sure there is Mac versions or alternative software.


    Download Putty:
    http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/download.html

    Download WinSCP:
    http://winscp.net/eng/download.php

    Download SSH_RD_Rev03B.jar:
    http://www.sinfuliphone.com/showthread.php?p=781514
    In that link it mentions about needing to install 'JRE-7-Windows-i586-iftw.exe' for it to work, but you can try without it to see if it works.

    Follow the instructions here to get access into your iPod (even if you don't want to backup files, see if the mnt2 folder shows, if not follow the next step):
    https://github.com/msftguy/ssh-rd/wiki/Windows-How-To

    If /mnt2 doesn’t show, restart the instructions for Putty, and after typing in the root and password, (before typing ‘mount.sh’), enter in:

    fsck_hfs -r /dev/disk0s1s2

    It will go through a repair, wait till it’s done, and mnt2 should work. Try to kick out of the Recovery Loop with Tiny Umbrella, or restore with iTunes, hope it works.
     
  3. TechSavy0192 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    #3
    It says 'connection refused'
     
  4. LMC91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #4
    At which point did it say 'connection refused'?
     
  5. TechSavy0192 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    #5
    Um, when i tried to connect with to PuTTy program
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TechSavy0192 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    #6
    Wait a sec. Mine is a school laptop. Does that affect this?
     
  7. LMC91, Sep 26, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2015

    LMC91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #7
    Hmm, not sure if it being a school laptop would matter, I don't think so, but I could be wrong, maybe the school laptop blocks or restricts certain things. I'll be honest and say I'm not an expert in any of this, I was just lucky enough after hours of googling I was able to get into my iPod and backup stuff, but also fixed a recovery loop while I was at it.

    When it comes to Putty, make sure its typed like the screenshot, you could also try running Putty in administrator mode by right clicking it.

    You can also try installing that JRE Java thing before running SSH_RD, then see if putty works after that.
     
  8. TechSavy0192 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    #8
    Wait, i updated it by force (more force) and now it's on ios 9.0.1
     
  9. LMC91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #9
    Is that you all sorted then?
     
  10. TechSavy0192 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    #10
    Yes, but not jailbreaked. Thank you so much for your help!!! I really appreciate it! Have a good day! :)
     
  11. LMC91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #11
    Glad to hear. Thanks, and yourself. :)
     

Share This Page