my ir Remote doesnt work any more

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by maddogeco, Nov 4, 2008.

  1. maddogeco macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #1
    Heres what happened i lost my remote under the bed for a while and found it last night now it does work. While it was lost i upgraded to leopard from tiger. i read a few things on the apple sight about pointing it at isight to see if there a light when you press a button, and there was a light showing up.
    so i tired re pairing the remote by holding menu and next for 5 seconds this did nothing.
    i replaced the battery and still nothing

    is there some trick im missing?
    i would greatly appreciate any help
     
  2. Billydelp4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #2
    Ir

    check under system preferences under security and see if IR shows up in there. If it doesn't then your I/O board is messed up. If you have apple care take it in or call them. they can usually replace that one in the store in a couple of minutes.

    This is what happened with mine.
     
  3. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #3
    Actually, you can disable the IR port via the control panel, it's a security feature! Which could be the cause... or the remote is dead. Anyway, before you yell fire, check it's not a deal remote first!! If it's less than 1 year old, Apple will replace it for free!
     
  4. Billydelp4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #4
    Check out his original post. he said he checked the remote. :rolleyes:

    Billy
     
  5. maddogeco thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #5
    yeah i check the remote its still sending a light out. i checked the security settings and IR is active but i don't think its paired (although it was working before i went to leopard) if tried holding down lots of button combination's and pointing it at the black dot next to the screen release button. But still nothing
     
  6. Billydelp4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #6

    But does the IR show up at all under security settings? If it does not then your IO board is acting up.

    You can also check under system profiler to see if it appears under USB.

    Good luck
     

Share This Page