My laptop wakes up randomly while sleeping w/ lid closed

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Codizzo Hawks, May 15, 2008.

1. Codizzo Hawks macrumors newbie

I am a high school student who uses a MacBook to take notes. I recently had some troubles– I store my laptop in a shock-resistant bag that I never throw around or anything that would harm my laptop – My laptop sometimes is awake in something my friend said is called "clamshell mode" but I had never downloaded anything that would cause this. Strange thing is, if I close it, the sleep light turns on; the computer falls "asleep" and the light slowly fades in/out. After I walk to my next class, the apple light on the back of the screen is on, and when I open my laptop is on and is quite warm.
    This is a problem because not only can I not leave my laptop in the case for very long, but it will also wear down my battery if it keeps using up power while it's on. ( i know sleep mode also uses up power, just not as much) Could I get some help?

Thanks.

2. Phillyzero macrumors regular

Phillyzero

Sorry to be of no real use, but I've had this same problem and hopefully I'm allowed to bump this topic up a bit as I'd like to get a response as well.

3. skybolt macrumors 6502a

Look in system preferences>energy saver or maybe display. Do you have your MB set to wake with bluetooth activation? Network activity? LAN access? Check the various things to see how they are set. Some of them can wake your MB without your knowing. (I'm not at my mac right now, so can't really give specific entries, but look in there and you should find something that may help)

4. Codizzo Hawks thread starter macrumors newbie